Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

    

College Leadership and Staff


 

Faculty by Areas of Interest and Expertise

NameExpertiseAcademic AreaEmail

Beliveau, Ralph 

  • Media education and literacy
  • Race
  • Gender & Representation
  • Horror Media
  • Documentary theory, production & history
  • Film
  • Popular culture
  • Transmedia
Creative Media Production
Professional Writing
beliveau@ou.edu

Bergersen, Kyle 

  • Screenwriting
  • Single camera production
  • Cinematography
  • Directing
  • Motion graphics
Creative Media Productionkbergersen@ou.edu

Boettcher, Mike 

  • Advanced Broadcast
  • Advanced Multimedia
  • Long Form Reporting
Journalismmikeboettcher@ou.edu

Carstarphen, Meta 

  • Race, gender, and class in the media
  • Public relations
  • Rhetoric
Public Relationsmcarstarphen@ou.edu

Chester, Deborah

  • Fiction writing of diverse genres and lengths
  • fantasy novels
  • nonfiction
Professional Writingdchester@ou.edu

Claxton, Ray

  • Advertising Design
  • Visual Storytelling
  • Principles of Layout and Image Making
Advertisingcray@ou.edu

Craig, David

  • Excellence in Journalism practices
  • Ethics in online and social media
  • Qualitative research methods
Journalismdcraig@ou.edu

Croom, Adam

  • Advertising concept and strategy
  • Print and web design
  • Social media
  • Strategic communication portfolio 
Advertisinga.croom@ou.edu

Evans, Mary Anna

  • Fiction writing
  • Nonfiction writing
  • Creative writing pedagogy
  • Math and science literacy
Professional Writingmaevans@ou.edu

Frisby, Cynthia

  • Media Consumer culture
  • Cultural competency
  • Media effects
  • Strategic research and planning to communicate with various groups
Public Relationsc.frisby@ou.edu

Hodgson, Scott 

  • Creative activity
  • Video producton
  • Targeted communication
  • Corporate and commercial media
  • Documentary
  • Promotional Media
Creative Media Productionscotth@ou.edu

Holmes, Carla

  • Integrated Marketing Communications
  • Media Relations
  • Social Media Campaigns
  • Crisis Communication
  • Event & Activation Management
  • Influencer Strategy & Outreach
  • Reputation Management
  • Community Outreach
  • Strategic Partnerships
Public Relationscarla.holmes@ou.edu

Johnson, Kathleen

  • Documentaries
  • Television networks and news programs
  • Media entrepreneurship
Journalismkjohnson@ou.edu

Jones, Julie

  • Mobile journalism
  • Emerging technologies and journalism education
  • Social networks
  • Video storytelling
Journalismjuliejones@ou.edu

Kerr, Robert

  • Media Law
Journalismrkerr@ou.edu

Kim, Jeong-Nam

  • Public relations
  • Public behavior and lay informatics
Public Relationsstops@ou.edu

Leshner, Glenn

  • Media Psychology
  • Health communication
  • Experimental research methods
Journalismleshnerg@ou.edu
McCoy, Armand
  • Strategic Communication
  • Advertising
Advertisingarmand.mccoy@ou.edu

Moore, Jensen

  • Health communication
  • Crisis communication
  • Digital media
Public Relationsjensenmoore@ou.edu

Odom, Mel

  • Professional Writing Capstone
  • Critical Reading and Editing
  • Novel Writing
  • Short Story Writing
Professional Writingmel@melodom.net
Patten, Tom
  • Advertising Copywriting
  • Poetics and Languaging in Advertising
  • The Power of Storytelling in Human Connections
  • Ethics for Profit, the Purpose-driven Brand
Advertisingthomaspatten@ou.edu

Schmeltzer, John

  • Community journalism 
  • Immigration
  • Media history
  • Multimedia journalism
  • Newspaper
  • Multimedia and online journalism
Journalismj.schmeltzer@ou.edu

Steyn, Elanie 

  • Leadership
  • Management
  • Women in leadership
  • Empowerment of minority communities
Journalismelanie@ou.edu

Sung, Yoon Hi

  • Digital advertising and technology
  • Corporate social responsibility
Advertisingyhsung@ou.edu

Thurston, Colleen

  • Documentary film production and studies
  • American Indian cinema
  • Decolonial and sovereign film and storytelling
  • Environmental and land-based documentary
  • Film curation and programming
Journalismcolleenthurston8@gmail.com

Tsetsura, Katerina

  • Global public relations development 
  • Ethics 
  • Media transparency
  • Social construction of public relations
  • Women in the field of strategic communication
  • Public diplomacy and government relations
Public Relationstsetsura@ou.edu

Wilderman, Melanie

  • Journalism education and service learning
  • Community journalism
  • Scholastic journalism education
Journalismmgwilderman@ou.edu

Yoon, Doyle

  • Online brand experience
  • Electronic customer relationship management
  • Social media effects
  • Attention, attitude, and information processing in digital advertising
  • Quantitative research methods
Advertisingdyoon@ou.edu

Yount, Debbie

  • Conduct multi-disciplinary research examining the effects of emerging
    technologies on consumer cognition, emotion, and behavior to uncover
    the implications for marketers
  • Explore the role of brand management and the brand planning process
    as an integral part of an organizations’ strategic planning process and
    how it can impact brand value
  • Undertake research on how social media has disrupted communication
    channels and created challenges for many marketers in the digital space
  • Consult with client organizations to develop business and marketing
    innovation through strategic planning that serves as the roadmap for
    long-term viability
  • Develop consumer-centric approaches to brand management and
    corporate brand value that recognize the strategic importance of human
    behavior and how it shifts at the speed of culture
Advertisingdebbie.yount@ou.edu

Zhang, Xiaochen Angela

  • Crisis and risk communication
  • Social media strategic communication
  • Public psychology
  • Community resilience
  • Public relations ethics
Public Relationsangelazhang@ou.edu


 

College Leadership

Ed Kelley

Ed Kelley
Dean
 

Email: ekelley@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-4094
 

Ed Kelley Bio

Elanie Steyn

Elanie Steyn, Ph.D.
Associate Dean of
Academic Affairs

Email: elanie@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-5440
 

Elanie Steyn Bio

Yvette Walker

Yvette Walker
Assistant Dean of
Student Affairs

Email: ywalker@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-5684
 

Yvette Walker Bio

Doyle Yoon

Doyle Yoon
Director of
Graduate Studies

Email: dyoon@ou.edu
 

Doyel Yoon Bio

Meta G. Carstarphen

Meta G. Carstarphen
Strategic Communication
Co-Area Head

Email: mcarstarphen@ou.edu


Meta Carstarphen Bio

Debbie Yount

Debbie Yount
Strategic Communication
Co-Area Head

Email: debbie.yount@ou.edu


Debbie Yount Bio

Ralph Beliveau

Ralph Beliveau
Creative Media Production and
Professional Writing Area Head

Email: beliveau@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-4169
 

Ralph Beliveau Bio

Robert Kerr

Robert Kerr
Journalism Co-Area Head
 

Email: rkerr@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-5278
 

Robert Kerr Bio

Advertising

Creative Media Production

Journalism

Professional Writing

Public Relations

Graduate Strategic Communication

Staff

Michael Acker


Michael Acker
Software Specialist
m.acker@ou.edu
(405) 325-1787

Deyna Aragon


Deyna Aragon

Senior Academic Advisor,
Professional Writing
daragon@ou.edu
(405) 325-3689

Jodie Bellomy


Jodie Bellomy

Senior Associate Advisor,
Advertising
jlbellomy@ou.edu
(405) 325-3686

Leslie Cermak


Leslie Cermak

Graduate Advisor and
Assistant to the Graduate Director
lcermak@ou.edu
(405) 325-2722

Tony McCoy


Tony McCoy

Building Coordinator
tmccoy@ou.edu
(405) 325-0918

Josh Kahoe


Josh Kahoe
Senior Academic Advisor,
Journalism, and
Creative Media Production
joshkahoe@ou.edu
(405) 325-5199

Kelsey Martyn-Farewell


Kelsey Martyn-Farewell

Director of Finance
kelseymf@ou.edu
(405) 325-5372

Lee Reynolds


Lee Reynolds

Director of Community and Alumni Relations
leereynolds@ou.edu
(405) 325-5090

Kathy Sawyer


Kathy Sawyer

Director of Student Services,
Academic Advisor,
Public Relations
ksawyer@ou.edu
(405) 325-5226

Paige Uhr


Paige Uhr

Director of Advancement
puhr@ou.edu
(405) 426-2812

Buddy Wiedemann


Buddy Wiedemann

Director of IT
bud@ou.edu
(405) 325-5229

Reed Wilson


Reed Wilson

Media Specialist
reedw@ou.edu
(405) 325-2989