Skip Navigation

Instructional Leadership and Academic Curriculum

Eman Beck with students at Norman High

Instructional Leadership
and Academic Curriculum

   

Undergraduate Programs

There’s never been a more exciting time to be a teacher! OU’s teacher education program will equip you to be a technology-savvy, student-centered educator who is prepared to bring the world into your classroom as you support your students in developing essential skills, including critical thinking, communication, collaboration and creativity.

All University of Oklahoma Professional Education programs are accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) and the Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability (OEQA).

Students posing in front of the homecoming float

   

Graduate Programs

Student sitting by the window in Collings Hall

   

Apply and Resources

Professional Conduct Policy

As future educators, students seeking teacher certification will be held to high standards of professional conduct in University, school, and other professional settings.  Professional conduct includes behaviors and dispositions that demonstrate integrity, diligence, personal responsibility, cooperation, and respect for others, and for self.  Professional conduct further requires that teacher certification students extend just and equitable treatment to students at field placement sites and their parents, as well as to colleagues and other members of the profession.

Professional Behavior Policy - Nov. 2016 (PDF)

InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), through its Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC), offers this set of model core teaching standards that outline what teachers should know and be able to do to ensure every K-12 student reaches the goal of being ready to enter college or the workforce in today’s world. These standards outline the common principles and foundations of teaching practice that cut across all subject areas and grade levels and that are necessary to improve student achievement.

More importantly, these Model Core Teaching Standards articulate what effective teaching and learning looks like in a transformed public education system – one that empowers every learner to take ownership of their learning, that emphasizes the learning of content and application of knowledge and skill to real world problems, that values the differences each learner brings to the learning experience, and that leverages rapidly changing learning environments by recognizing the possibilities they bring to maximize learning and engage learners. A transformed public education system requires a new vision of teaching.

Click here for more information about the InTASC Standards.  Click here for more information about InTASC-based teacher learning progressions.

ILAC Student Resources

Early Childhood Resources

Address: 820 Van Vleet Oval, Room 114, Norman, OK 73019

Phone: (405) 325-1498

NameTitleEmailPhone
Kristy
Brugar
Department Chair
kristy.a.brugar@ou.edu(405) 325-1498
Undergraduate
Advising
Office
Undergraduate and
Post-bachelor's
certification programs
jrcoe.advising@ou.edu(405) 325-2238
Mike
Jenkins
Graduate Programs
Support
mjenkins@ou.edu(405) 325-4525
Toronzo sitting at his computer

    

   

Next Steps

Field Experiences

Field experiences are a critical component of teacher education. At OU, we get you into the field in your very first teacher education course.

Field Experiences

Teacher Certification

Learn more about Oklahoma Teacher Certification.

 

Teacher Certification

Undergraduate Advising

The Office of Undergraduate Advising is here to guide you along your journey in the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education.

Undergraduate Advising

   

Faculty

Sally Beach

Sally Beach
Professor


Program Area:
Reading/Literacy Education
Email:
sbeach@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 335

 

Sally Beach Bio

Rebecca Borden

Rebecca Borden
Assistant Professor


Program Area:
World Languages
Email:
rborden@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 118


 

Rebecca Borden Bio

Kristy Brugar

Kristy Brugar
Associate Professor and Department Chair

Program Area: Social Studies Education
Email:
kristy.a.brugar@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 123


 

Kristy Brugar Bio

   

Erin Casey

Erin Casey
Assistant Professor

Program Area: Early Childhood Education
Email:
Erin.M.Casey-1@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 125
 

Erin Casey Bio

William S. Davis

William S. Davis
Assistant Professor

Program Area: World Languages
Email:
wsdavis@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 119

 

William S. Davis Bio

Courtney Dewhirst

Courtney Dewhirst
Assistant Professor

Program Area: Early Childhood Education
Email:
cbeers@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office:
Collings Hall 126
 

Courtney Dewhirst Bio

   

Libby Ethridge

Libby Ethridge
Associate Professor


Program Area:
Early Childhood Education
Email:
ethridge@ou.edu
Phone: (918) 231-1667
Office: OU-Tulsa campus, 4W118
 

Libby Ethridge Bio

Kelly Feille

Kelly Feille
Assistant Professor


Program Area:
Science Education
Email:
feille@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office:
Collings Hall 117

 

Kelly Feille Bio

Aiyana Henry

Aiyana Henry
Associate Dean for
Professional Education; Associate Professor

Program Area: Elementary Education
Email:
ahenry@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1081
Office: Collings Hall Suite 100
 

Aiyana Henry Bio

   

Crag Hill

Crag Hill
Associate Professor


Program Area:
English Education
Email:
crag.a.hill@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 120

 

Crag Hill Bio

Diane Horm

Diane M. Horm
Director, Early Childhood Education Institute; Professor

Program Area: Early Childhood Education
Email:
dhorm@ou.edu
Phone: (918) 660-3985
Office: OU-Tulsa campus, 4W125
 

Diane Horm Bio

Collings Hall

Neil Houser
Professor


Program Area:
Social Studies Education
Email:
nhouser@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 127

 

Neil Houser Bio

   

Kyong-Ah Kwon

Kyong-Ah Kwon
Associate Professor; Cable Chair in Early Childhood Education

Program Area: Early Childhood Education
Email:
kkwon@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 236
 

Kyong-Ah Kwon Bio

Vickie Lake

Vickie Lake
Associate Dean OU-Tulsa; Professor

Program Area: Early Childhood Education
Email:
vlake@ou.edu
Phone: (918) 660-3984
Office:
OU-Tulsa campus, 4W115
 

Vickie Lake Bio

Jacob Pleasants

Jacob Pleasants
Assistant Professor


Program Area:
Science Education
Email:
jacob.pleasants@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 121

 

Jacob Pleasants Bio

   

Kate Raymond

Kate Raymond
Assistant Professor

Program Area: Mathematics Education
Email:
kate.m.raymond@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 116

 

Kate Raymond Bio

Stacy Reeder

Stacy Reeder
Dean; Professor

Program Area: Mathematics Education
Email:
reeder@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1081
Office: Collings Hall Suite 100

 

Stacy Reeder Bio

Jiening Ruan

Jiening Ruan
Professor

Program Area: Literacy/Reading Education
Email:
jruan@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-1498
Office: Collings Hall 122
 

Jiening Ruan Bio

   

Heidi Torres

Heidi Torres
Assistant Professor

Program Area: Elementary Education
Email:
hjtorres@ou.edu
Phone: (405) 325-9738
Office: Collings Hall 115
 

Heidi Torres Bio