Skip Navigation

OU Names New Dean of the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication


OU Names New Dean of the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication

April 23, 2024

NORMAN, OKLA. – The University of Oklahoma announced today the appointment of Andrea Miller as dean of the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication and holder of the Sue Rainbolt Van Natta Chair in Journalism, pending OU Board of Regents’ approval.

“We are incredibly excited to welcome Dr. Andrea Miller to the University of Oklahoma,” said OU President Joseph Harroz Jr. “With her exceptional blend of news production experience, accomplished leadership, rigorous scholarship and unwavering commitment to championing the next generation, Dr. Miller is poised to propel Gaylord College to unprecedented levels of excellence. Her vision and expertise will undoubtedly shape the future of journalism education, and we eagerly anticipate the transformative impact she will bring to OU.”

Gaylord College professor David Craig served as interim dean of Gaylord College over the past academic year. The national search for the position attracted 31 qualified candidates. The search committee – made up of 14 members representing Gaylord College faculty, staff, students, and Board of Visitors, and faculty representatives from the Dodge Family College of Arts and Sciences, University Libraries, and the Price College of Business – interviewed 12 semifinalists, ultimately selecting five finalists. The search solicited feedback from all Gaylord College constituencies and from other college deans, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, and members of the executive team.

Andrea Miller, Ph.D..

Miller comes to OU from the Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism in the College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences at the University of North Texas, where she most recently served as dean and professor since 2019, as well as director of the Mayborn Graduate Institute. She also served UNT as interim chair of the media arts department from 2020 to 2021. Before joining North Texas, Miller was associate dean for undergraduate studies and administration as well as Huie-Dellmon Professor in the Manship School of Mass Communication at Louisiana State University from 2011 to 2019.

An active and accomplished scholar of journalism and mass communications best practices, Miller has published several books and scores of articles in leading academic journals in her field. She has also presented widely at numerous highly-regarded national and international conferences and symposia. She also recently led the Mayborn School through a successful Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications reaccreditation process for undergraduate and graduate programs. She received a glowing site team report.

As an assistant, associate, and full professor with the Manship School of Mass Communication, Miller has taught courses such as graduate and undergraduate crisis communications, introductory media writing, advanced broadcast storytelling, sports and mass communication, mass media research methods at the graduate level and many more. Serving as a mentor for others, she has chaired three doctoral and 11 master’s committees. Her educational leadership has been recognized as she was recently awarded an Educator of the Year award by the Public Relations Society of America Dallas Chapter and voted Best Dean in the student newspaper North Texas Daily. She has served as an Edward R. Murrow Awards regional judge in television and a Scripps Howard Awards judge.

Prior to joining academia, Miller served as a reporter, producer and anchor at several news stations across Texas. She received professional accolades, including the Dallas Press Club Katie Award Best Newscast and the Associated Press Spot News Award, and she served as associate producer for an Emmy-winning newscast. She has experience in media and crisis training, including media training for Fort Polk Military Public Information Officers, prior to deployment to Afghanistan.

“Dr. Miller brings a wealth of experience to OU, marked by her unwavering dedication to nurturing the next generation, and we are thrilled to welcome her to the OU community,” said OU Senior Vice President and Provost André-Denis G. Wright.

Miller earned a bachelor of arts in journalism from Texas A&M University and a master of science degree in media studies from Texas Christian University. She also attended the University of Missouri-Columbia, where she earned her Ph.D. in journalism.

About the University of Oklahoma

Founded in 1890, the University of Oklahoma is a public research university located in Norman, Oklahoma. As the state’s flagship university, OU serves the educational, cultural, economic and health care needs of the state, region and nation. OU was named the state’s highest-ranking university in U.S. News & World Report’s most recent Best Colleges list. For more information about the university, visit

Recent News

May 29, 2024

University of Oklahoma to Evaluate $36M Federal Grant to Strengthen State’s Early Childhood Systems

An interdisciplinary team of researchers from the University of Oklahoma has received a portion of a $36 million grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to evaluate strategies designed to strengthen educational support for Oklahoma’s children, ages birth through five years.

May 24, 2024

Two OU Researchers Receive AAUW Fellowships

Annabel Ipsen, an assistant professor of sociology, and Evelyn Cox, a doctoral student in the School of Library and Information Studies and research project manager at OU’s Native Nations Center, have been awarded 2024-2025 American Fellowships from the American Association of University Women.

May 23, 2024

OU Researcher’s Study on the Transnational Policy Process Receives Top Honors

A study co-authored by Michelle Morais, Ph.D., an associate professor in the David L. Boren College of International Studies at the University of Oklahoma, has been awarded the best article of 2023 by the Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis: Research and Practice.