Skip Navigation

Seminars

Skip Side Navigation

Institute for Environmental Genomics

Seminar Series

International Forum on Advanced Environmental Sciences and Technology (iFAST)


The International Forum on Advanced Environmental Sciences and Technology (iFAST) aims to provide an interactive forum to bring eminent scientists together to share their most recent advances in environmental sciences and technology with interested students, faculty, and other researchers. It also provides an opportunity to foster interdisciplinary networking among environmental researchers, engineers, and the general audience.

Invited speakers will consist of distinguished scientists from the international community to highlight grand challenges, frontier questions, and opportunities in environmental science and technology as well as potential solutions to on-going environmental challenges. The seminars will focus on fundamental research and will primarily pertain to topics such as climate change, environmental protection, theoretical ecology, community ecology, ecosystem ecology, evolutionary biology, microbial ecology, geosciences, and environmental genomics.

The iFAST seminars will be presented via Zoom on most Wednesdays.  Times will vary due to our international presenters and audience. All seminars are free and open to the public. Registration is required to receive a webinar link. 

'Sign up email list' to receive calendar reminders, updates on upcoming speakers, and other notices. 'Zoom registration' to register the seminar(s) and Zoom will immediately send your unique link to you.

SIGN UP Email List       ZOOM Registration*
* zoom registration for next month will open after the last seminar in this month.

Upcoming Speakers

Terry Chapin, University of Alaska at Fairbanks (Apr. 7, 2021)

Mathew Leibold, University of Florida (Apr. 14, 2021)

Alan Hastings, University of California, Davis (Apr. 21, 2021)

 

Scheduled Speakers

SpeakerTitleDate Time

Simon Levin 

website

Mathematical ecology: A century of progress, and challenges for the next century
Video: https://bit.ly/32nPZ6Q
Sept. 16, 20208:00 am CDT      9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

James Tiedje 

website

Assessing the past and future of microbial ecology: The foundation of the biosphere
Video: https://bit.ly/3eBS7N1
Sept. 23, 20208:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT 1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Bruce Rittmann

website

Understanding the Biofilm Anode in Microbial Electrochemical Cells (MXCs)
Video: https://bit.ly/2IjLp24
Sept. 30, 20208:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT 1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Paul Falkowski

website

The Origin and Emergence of Global Coupled Biogeochemical Cycles
Video: https://bit.ly/38kXoaJ | More: https://bit.ly/3n2gFln
Oct. 14, 2020
8:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT 1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Richard Luthy

website

The Urban Water Revolution: Sustainable Water Supplies for Semi-arid Cities
Video: https://bit.ly/358AvWg
Oct. 21 (US),
Oct. 22 (GMT, Beijing), 2020
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT 1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Mary Firestone

website

Water in Soil: the Basis for Terrestrial System Functioning
Video: https://bit.ly/3qAY2Yt
Oct. 28 (US),
Oct. 29 (GMT, Beijing), 2020
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT 1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

William Schlesinger

website

Carbon Sequestration in Soils to Mitigate Global Climate Change
Video: https://bit.ly/35x7UtM
Nov. 4, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

Rita Colwell

website

Climate, Oceans and Human Health: What Cholera can teach us about COVID-19
Video: https://bit.ly/3lDWdX3
Nov. 11, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

Peter B. Reich

website

The strength of simplicity and the challenge of complexity: traits, trade-offs, and scaling in an era of multiple global changes
Video: https://bit.ly/2UXO8RS
Nov. 18, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

James S. Clark

website

Continent-wide change driven by indirect climate effects on fecundity
Video: https://bit.ly/39GC6VG
Nov. 25, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

Peter Vitousek

website

Pacific Islands as Model Systems for Understanding Ecosystems and Human-Environment Interaction.
Video: http://bit.ly/2KsUaZ2
Dec. 2 (US), Dec. 3 (GMT, Beijing), 20207:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Jim Elser

website

Biological stoichiometry of nutrient limitation in ecology, evolution, and sustainability.
Video: https://bit.ly/37jHQDs
Dec. 9 (US), Dec. 10 (GMT, Beijing), 20207:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Peter Kareiva

website

The Science of Science Communication: Dealing with Complexity and Uncertainty. detail>>Dec. 16 (US), Dec. 17 (GMT, Beijing), 20207:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Bruce E. Logan

website

You need to learn more about your daily energy use and carbon emissions to better understand the challenges of slowing climate change.
Video: http://bit.ly/2MCRrgL
Jan. 20, 20218:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

James Galloway

website

Nitrogen Out of the Bottle: The Challenge of Managing the Genie.
Video: http://bit.ly/3tfGT7Q
Jan. 27, 20218:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

James Estes

website

The historical ecology of an iconic keystone predator.
Video: https://bit.ly/3p6jhzo
Feb. 3 (US), Feb. 4 (GMT, Beijing), 20217:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Gretchen Daily

website

Valuing Nature in Decisions:  From Demonstration to Transformation.
Video: http://bit.ly/2Ocos4r
Mar. 3 (US), Mar. 4 (GMT, Beijing), 20217:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Mary Power

website

Floods, drought, and alternate states in algal-based river food webs.
Video: http://bit.ly/3tikkij
Mar. 10 (US), Mar. 11 (GMT, Beijing), 2021
7:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

George Somero

website

Molecular Adaptation to Environmental Stress: Complementary Roles of Macromolecules and “Micromolecules”
Video: https://bit.ly/392u9JA
Mar. 17 (US), Mar. 18 (GMT, Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

John Terborgh

website

Zoned vs. mixed plant communities: how top-down and bottom-up forcing structures plant communities around the globe.
Video: https://bit.ly/31xQcna
Mar. 24, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Steve Pacala

website

How to Achieve Net-Zero Greenhouse Gas Emissions in the United States by Midcentury.
Video: https://bit.ly/2QRVc3M
Mar. 31, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Terry Chapin

website

Earth Stewardship: A pragmatic agenda for transformation
details>>
Apr. 7 (US), Apr. 8 (GMT, Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Mathew Leibold

website

Rethinking metacommunity ecology - linking pattern and process, is it possible?
details>>
Apr. 14, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Advisory Committee

Simon Levin (Princeton University); James Tiedje (Michigan State University); Paul Falkowski (Rutgers University); Guanzhou Qiu (Central South University); Bruce Rittmann (Arizona State University); Mary Power (University of California, Berkeley)

Organizing Committee

Jizhong Zhou (The University of Oklahoma, Chair)
Xueduan Liu (Central South University, Co-Chair)

Liyou Wu; Naijia Xiao; Joy Van Nostrand; Daliang Ning; Colin Bates; Carolyn Cornell (The University of Oklahoma)

Aijie Wang (Harbin Institute of Technology)

Fengping Wang (Shanghai JiaoTong University)

Wensheng Shu (South China Norman University)

Zhili He  (Sun Yat-sen University)

Lei Cheng (Zhejiang University)

Yunfeng Yang (Tsinghua University)

Ye Deng (RCEES, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Yili Liang; Huaqun Yin (Central South University)