Skip Navigation

Data Science and Visualization Expert Joins OU

Skip Side Navigation
April 17, 2020

Data Science and Visualization Expert Joins OU

Four months after accepting the offer, we are thrilled to announce that David Ebert will join OU in June as an Associate Vice President for Research and Partnerships and Gallogly Chair in Engineering. Previously, Ebert was the Silicon Valley Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University, an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellow, Director of the Purdue Integrative Data Science Initiative and Director of the Visual Analytics for Command Control and Interoperability Center (VACCINE).

Ebert performs research in visual analytics, human-computer teaming, advanced predictive analytics, human-guided intelligent data-driven policy and decision-making, volume rendering, illustrative visualization, and procedural abstraction of complex, massive data. 

Ebert brings with him a tremendous record of success winning large, center-scale national level federal funding opportunities. As part of the University’s strategic plan, he will be tasked with standing up a new multidisciplinary OU Center of Excellence for research in data science. The Institute will build and expand on the research excellence in data science already in place at the university to bring the power of methods such artificial intelligence and machine learning, data visualization, and other emerging tools of the digital era to important problems with high social impact across OU’s four vertical research strategic themes, namely, Aerospace, Defense and National Security; Energy, Environment and Sustainability; Life Sciences and the Future of Health; and Flourishing societies. He will work with faculty and administrators across the campus to help orchestrate partnerships and position the university as a national leader in the development and application of tools and methods to impact the future of the digital society.

Please join us in welcoming Dr. David Ebert to the University of Oklahoma.