Skip Navigation

Two OU Researchers Receive AAUW Fellowships

Annabel Ipsen and Evelyn Cox.

Two OU Researchers Receive AAUW Fellowships



May 24, 2024

Media Contact

Josh DeLozier
(405) 325-1502

NORMAN, OKLA. – Annabel Ipsen, an assistant professor of sociology, and Evelyn Cox, a doctoral student in the School of Library and Information Studies and research project manager at OU’s Native Nations Center, have been awarded 2024-2025 American Fellowships from the American Association of University Women.

Ipsen received an American Postdoctoral Leave Fellowship to support research for a multi-sited book project on food system inequalities with cases in the United States, Mexico and Chile. She joined the faculty at OU in 2022 and teaches courses on research methods, social movements and introductory sociology.

Cox’s award will support her doctoral dissertation, which focuses on archival recordkeeping and knowledge structures in underrepresented populations. This work will specifically focus on the CHamoru, or Indigenous people of the Mariana Islands, in Guam.

“Guam is my home, but Oklahoma is my home away from home,” Cox said. “Being able to represent these communities through the AAUW has been such a blessing. This fellowship gives me the opportunity to complete the last year of my dissertation without financial burden.”

Learn more about the AAUW’s American Fellowships.

About the University of Oklahoma

Founded in 1890, the University of Oklahoma is a public research university located in Norman, Oklahoma. As the state’s flagship university, OU serves the educational, cultural, economic and health care needs of the state, region and nation. OU was named the state’s highest-ranking university in U.S. News & World Report’s most recent Best Colleges list. For more information about the university, visit

Recent News

June 21, 2024

OU Alumni Shine as ‘The Outsiders’ Wins Best Musical at Tony Awards

“The Outsiders,” featuring the contributions of three University of Oklahoma alumni, won Best Musical at the 77th Annual Tony Awards. The production, which received 12 nominations, was celebrated at the ceremony at the David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts on June 16.

June 21, 2024

OU Board of Regents Approve FY25 Budget: Sustaining Affordability, Advancing Academic Excellence

The University of Oklahoma Board of Regents met in Ardmore today to approve a number of items, including a budget for fiscal year 2025 that keeps tuition affordable and invests in strategic priorities, ensuring the university is well-positioned to sustain its upward momentum for years to come.

June 18, 2024

OU Names New Director of the Early Childhood Education Institute

The University of Oklahoma Early Childhood Education Institute (ECEI) on the Tulsa campus has announced the appointment of Kathleen Gallagher, Ph.D. as the new director, pending OU Board of Regents’ approval and effective Aug. 1, 2024.