Skip Navigation

Frantz Named 2024 American Institute of Architects Fellow

Place your image here. Please ensure that your image upload meets all of these requirements: Image dimensions, 900 by 600 pixels; file type, jpeg or jpg; file size, maximum of 300kb. Overlaying crimson and white stripes.

Frantz Named 2024 American Institute of Architects Fellow

The University of Oklahoma architecture professor was elevated to the highest level of the national architects’ group.

March 21, 2024

NORMAN, OKLA. – Ronald H. Frantz, Jr., FAIA, University of Oklahoma Christopher C. Gibbs College of Architecture associate professor and director of the environmental design program, has been elevated to the American Institute of Architects’ College of Fellows, a distinction only 3% of AIA members have been awarded.

Each year, following a rigorous review process, the AIA elevates select member architects to its College of Fellows, a fellowship program developed to honor architects who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society nationally.

Frantz was elevated in the AIA College of Fellows category of Public Service, which suits him perfectly as he has dedicated his career to revitalizing important historic communities and ensuring history is preserved by equipping others with these skills.

“I have spent more than 25 years admiring Mr. Frantz’s tireless work partnering with community members to transform and preserve historic built environments, serving the AIA and other community organizations, and educating and mentoring students and professionals with an empathetic and learner-centered approach,” says Hans Butzer, FAIA, LEED AP, dean of the College of Architecture and also a member of the AIA College of Fellows.

Much of Frantz’s professional career has been dedicated to working with Main Street America, “a movement committed to strengthening communities through preservation-based economic development in older and historic downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts,” according to their website. He developed collaborative relationships with more than 100 Oklahoma towns, districts and neighborhoods. He has been asked to share his expertise at the national level through work with the Main Street America Design Manual, and his façade work has been featured in more than 20 national publications. Six of the towns Frantz partnered with have been designated Great American Main Street Award winners by Main Street America.

Frantz has given much back to the history of Oklahoma cities and towns. He oversaw the preservation of main street facades in dozens of towns, including Pawhuska, Ponca City, Okmulgee and Miami. He contributed to the preservation of key historic sites in Guthrie, Oklahoma’s territorial capital; Automobile Alley in Oklahoma City after the Murrah Federal Building bombing; and an important Oklahoma City historic neighborhood, The Paseo.

Frantz has spent his career educating others about the importance of historic architectural preservation, as well as teaching the techniques and methods. In 2011, he joined the University of Oklahoma Architecture faculty to dedicate his time to training the next generation of architects and preservationists. All this hard work for preservation culminated in the Lifetime Achievement Award from AIA Oklahoma, the organization’s highest honor, in 2023.

“Mr. Frantz is a vocal and productive ambassador, advocate and community-engagement liaison who understands that our future is stronger when it's built upon the shared lessons of our past,” says Butzer.

FAIA selection process

Each year, fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows.

The 2024 Jury of Fellows included: Lisa Lamkin, FAIA, Chair, Brown Reynolds Watford Architects, Inc., Dallas; Carl D'Silva, FAIA, Perkins + Will, Chicago; Sanford Garner, FAIA, RGCollaborative, Indianapolis; Margaret McFadden Carney, FAIA, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.; Pamela Rew, FAIA, KSS Architects, Princeton, N.J.; Anne Schopf, FAIA, Mahlum, Seattle; Lourdes Solera, FAIA, MCHarry Associates, Miami.

Read more from AIA here.

By Bonnie Rucker

Article Published: March 21, 2024

About the University of Oklahoma

Founded in 1890, the University of Oklahoma is a public research university located in Norman, Oklahoma. As the state’s flagship university, OU serves the educational, cultural, economic and health care needs of the state, region and nation. OU was named the state’s highest-ranking university in U.S. News & World Report’s most recent Best Colleges list. For more information about the university, visit

Recent News

April 24, 2024

OU Health Stephenson Cancer Center Expanding to Tulsa to Serve Northeast Oklahoma

OU Health Stephenson Cancer Center today announced its expansion to the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa, marking a significant milestone in providing access to research-driven cancer care to northeastern Oklahoma residents. As the state’s sole National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated cancer center, Stephenson Cancer Center's expansion will offer local patients unparalleled access to advanced cancer treatments and hundreds of innovative clinical trials for multiple cancers.

April 24, 2024

Out of Darkness Walk April 28 to Raise Mental Health Awareness

Three cycles around the University of Oklahoma’s South Oval will take you one and a half miles. When students make the trek on Sunday, April 28, their laps will be for the symbolic purpose of raising awareness of suicide. The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s Out of Darkness Campus Walk at OU will be the first of what organizers hope will become an annual tradition centered around suicide awareness and prevention.

April 23, 2024

OU Names New Dean of the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication

The University of Oklahoma announced today the appointment of Andrea Miller as dean of the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication and holder of the Sue Rainbolt Van Natta Chair in Journalism, pending OU Board of Regents’ approval.