Skip Navigation

OU Graduate Student received Fulbright award

Kristin Urías
Kristin Urías

Graduate student receives Fulbright award


May 5, 2023 // 5:00 PM CST

In true University of Oklahoma tradition, high-performing students have been recognized with some of the most prestigious – and highly competitive – 2023 scholarships offered. These awards recognize these students’ work in public policy and government, STEM research, meteorology and more.

This year’s awards include one Truman Scholar, two Goldwater Scholars, one Boren Scholar, four Fulbright Scholars plus one alternate, three NOAA Hollings Scholars and one Rotary Scholar.

“Seeing our students achieve academic honors at the highest levels affirms that the University of Oklahoma is committed to offering a world-class education and preparing students for a life of impact,” said OU President Joseph Harroz Jr. “These scholars have worked incredibly hard to earn these tremendous awards, and we are remarkably proud of each of them. We know they will represent the best of OU in their future studies and careers.”

OU master’s degree student Kristin Urías is one of the award winners. Urías  received a Fulbright U.S. Student award for the 2023-2024 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Urías, of Dallas, is pursuing an online Master of Arts in Global Affairs degree in international and area studies. She earned bachelor’s degrees in anthropology and Spanish from Texas A&M University in 2012. She has been awarded a grant from the Fulbright English Teaching Assistant program and will spend her grant year in Argentina as an English teaching assistant with a special project in eco-tourism. Following her grant year, she plans to apply for U.S. State Department Foreign Service.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.

Read more about the national scholar award winners on OU's website.