

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT CONGRESS Session XCVI

General Body Meeting 7:00 pm, Tuesday, October 4th, 2016 Devon Hall 120

Roll Call -Flag Salute Approval of Minutes Chair's Report-Vice Chair's Report-Secretary's Report-Committee Reports-

- Academic Affairs
- Communications
- o Congressional Administration
- o External Affairs
- o Human Diversity
- o Problems and Projects
- o Sustainability
- Ways and Means

Liaison Reports

Special Orders

Students for Education

Student Concerns

Old Business

Items to Be Considered

960113- An Act Expelling Session 96 Representatives (ConAd- Rec of Do Pass)

960302- Mental Health Promotion Resolution (PnP- Rec of No Rec)

960708- Student Parking Appeals Court Appointment Act of 2016-2017 (ConAd-Rec of No Rec)

New Business

Follow-Up Reports

Items for Future Agenda

Announcements and Comments

Final Roll Call

Chair: Kaylee Rains Vice-Chair: Austin Reid Secretary: Jake Mazeitis

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT CONGRESS CONGRESSIONAL SESSION XCV October 4th, 2016

CONGRESSIONAL BILL NO. 960113

AS INTRODUCED

An Act of Procedure Expelling Members of Congressional Session 96 for excessive absences; providing for a short title; stating purpose; and providing an effective date.

Section 1:	Title. This act shall be known as "An Act Expelling Session 96 Representatives"
Section 2:	Purpose. The purpose of this act shall be to expel a member for excessive absences. Because Morgan Benjamin and Lucas Kirkham have accrued excessive unexcused absences and have failed to petition the Executive Committee for an attendance waiver, and as a result have failed to represent their constituents, the membership of the aforementioned is pending expulsion.
Section 3:	In accordance with the Section 3.3 subsection 2 of the SGA Undergraduate Student Congress Bylaws, "Upon accruing a fourth absence, the Student Congress Secretary shall prepare an act of procedure to expel any member or committee officer who has accrued excessive unexcused absences."
	Expulsion. Representative Morgan Benjamin Expulsion. Representative Lucas Kirkham
Section 5:	This act shall become effective when passed in accordance with the SGA Constitution.
Author(s):	Jake Mazeitis, Secretary of the Undergraduate Student Congress
Action taken	by Student Congress: Date:

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT CONGRESS CONGRESSIONAL SESSION XCVI October 4, 2016

GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE SENATE SESSION GF-16 September 25, 2016

CONGRESSIONAL BILL NO. 960302 SENATE BILL NO. GF16-11

AS INTRODUCED

A Resolution expressing support for Campus Counseling and Health Services and providing for distribution.

Whereas: Suicide is the second leading cause of death for students; and

Whereas: Two thirds of university students who suffer from mental health challenges do not seek treatment for mental health conditions, despite the availability of those services; and

Whereas: More than 60% of American university students report suffering from depression during

their college careers; and

Whereas: The University of Oklahoma Counseling Services provides a wide variety of counseling and

testing services to the University community; and

Whereas: The University has made great strides in enriching Counseling Services with the addition of

more psychologists, and a second psychiatrist to its staff; and

Whereas: The University Health Services provides quality healthcare services to a student body of

more than 27,000 Norman Campus students is often the first point of treatment for

depression and other mental health concerns.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION THAT:

- Section 1: This resolution shall be known and may be cited as the "Mental Health Promotion Resolution"; and
- Section 2: The University of Oklahoma Student Government Association encourages all students to take advantage of these services, especially those offered by the Counseling Center, so that they may perform to the best of their ability in their coursework at the University; and
- Section 3: The University of Oklahoma Student Government Association commits itself to support further outreach activities aimed at removing the stigma towards mental health and the use of counseling services; and
- Section 4: The University of Oklahoma Student Government Association expresses its profound gratitude to the President of the University, David Boren, for his efforts to improve mental health care on campus.
- Section 5: The University of Oklahoma Student Government Association expresses its profound gratitude to the Director of the University Counseling Center, Scott Miller, Ph.D. and the Counseling Staff; and
- Section 6: The University of Oklahoma Student Government Association expresses its profound gratitude to the Chief of the Medical Staff, Craig Rice, M.D., FAAFP, and the whole of the University Health Services Staff.
- Section 7: Copies of this resolution will be sent to:
 - President David L. Boren, President of the University
 - Dean Clark Stroud, Dean of Students and Vice President for Student Affairs
 - Jabar Shumate, Vice President of Student Community
 - Dr. Scott Miller, Director of the University Counseling Center
 - Dr. Craig Rice, Chief of the Medical Staff of University Health Services
 - Hans E. Butzer, Interim Dean of the College of Architecture
 - Kelly Damphousse, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
 - Berrien Moore, Dean of the College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences
 - Daniel Pullin, Dean of the Price College of Business
 - J. Mike Stice, Dean of the Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy
 - Gregg A. Garn, Dean of the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education
 - Thomas Landers, Dean of the Gallogy College of Engineering
 - Mary Margaret Holt, Dean of the Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts
 - Suzette Grillot, Dean of the College of International Studies
 - Ed Kelley, Dean of the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication
 - James Pappas, Dean of the College of Liberal Studies

Dean of the Graduate College
OU Daily
The OU Nightly
The Norman Transcript

Author: Andrew Kierig, Graduate Student Senate Senator

Sponsors: Carrie Pavlowsky, Graduate Student Senate Chair
Jonathan Merlini, Graduate Student Senate Vice-Chair

Submitted on a Motion by:
Action taken by Student Congress:
Verified by Chair of Student Congress:

Date:

Submitted on a motion by:
Action taken by Senate:
Verified by Chair of Senate:

Date:

Date:

Date:

Approved by SGA President: _____ Date: _____

• Dr. Roxanne Mountford, Director of First-Year Composition

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT CONGRESS CONGRESSIONAL SESSION XCVI October 4, 2016

GRADUATE STUDENT SENATE SENATE SESSION GS-16 October 9, 2016

CONGRESSIONAL BILL NO. 960708 SENATE BILL NO. GS16-XX

AS INTRODUCED

An Act appointing Student Parking Appeals Court Judges; providing for codification; providing for short title; and providing an effective date.

Section 1: TITLE. This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Student Parking Appeals Court Appointment Act of 2016-2017" Section 2: PURPOSE. To appoint student members to the Student Parking Appeals Court Section 3: In accordance with Title IV, Chapter 4, section 46, which delineates the appointment process for students on the court, the following students shall thus be appointed: Alejandra Acosta Mia Bunting Sonali Demla Matthew Fenn Andrew Kim Josh Lenz Tessa Martin Madison Wallace Section 4: This act shall become effective, while in accordance with the SGACA, immediately following passage and approval. Author(s): Daniel Pae, SGA President Michael Lutter, SGA Vice President Kaylee Rains, SGA Undergraduate Congress Chair Nathan Schmenk, Chief Justice of the SGA Parking Appeals Board

Submitted on a Motion by:
Action taken by Student Congress:
Verified by Chair of Student Congress:

Submitted on a motion by:
Action taken by Senate:
Verified by Chair of Senate:

Date:

Date: