

December 20, 2024

Dear Colleagues,

As we mourn the loss of our friend and colleague Dr. Berrien Moore III, I write to share our interim leadership plan. I have asked Dr. Petra Klein to serve as Interim Dean of the College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences, and Dr. Robert Palmer to step in as the Interim Director of the National Weather Center. Their appointments are effective immediately, pending final approval of the OU Board of Regents. Both Dr. Klein and Dr. Palmer have been pillars in the AGS and broader meteorology community for more than two decades, and their leadership ensures that the college and the NWC remain in capable hands as we navigate the path ahead.

In her role as Executive Associate Dean of AGS, Dr. Klein has been instrumental to the college's growth and research excellence. She is Edith Kinney Gaylord Presidential Professor and Regents Professor in the School of Meteorology, which she joined in 2002. She has served as PI of multiple NSF and DOE funded research grants focused on investigating the atmospheric boundary layer in complex environments. She is a fellow of the American Meteorological Society and in 2021, the Council of the American Meteorological Society honored her with the Helmut E. Landsberg Award for her extensive contributions to the field of urban meteorology.

Soon after Dr. Palmer came to OU in 2004 as the Tommy C. Craighead Chair in the School of Meteorology, he established the Advanced Radar Research Center. He currently serves as the Executive Director of the ARRC and OU's Associate Vice President for Research and Partnerships. While at OU, his research interests have focused on the application of advanced radar signal processing techniques to observations of severe weather, particularly related to phased-array radars and other innovative system designs. He is a Fellow of both the American Meteorological Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers emphasizing his dedication to the interdisciplinary nature of radar science.

Please join me in expressing our appreciation to Dr. Klein and Dr. Palmer for their willingness to lead with dedication and care as we move forward together.

Sincerely,

André-Denis G. Wright Senior Vice President and Provost, Norman Campus