## **ESTABLISHMENT DATES**

## The University of Oklahoma

The University of Oklahoma	<u>Dates</u>	
Established	1890	
First Charter	1890	(December 19)
First year postsecondary work offered	1892	(September)
First degree awarded - Baccalaureate in Pharmaceutical Chemistry	1896	
First graduate degree awarded - Master of Arts	1900	
First accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools	1913	

College	<u>Established</u>
Norman Campus	
Christopher C. Gibbs College of Architecture	1970
Dodge Family Arts and Sciences	1892
Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences <sup>1</sup>	1981
Michael F. Price College of Business	1929
Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy	2006
Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education	1929
Gallogly College of Engineering	1909
Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts	1924
Graduate College	1909
McClendon Honors College	1996
David L. Boren College of International Studies	2011
Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication	2000
Law	1909
Professional and Continuing Studies - Extended Campus <sup>2</sup>	1960
University College	1942
Health Sciences Center	
Allied Health	1970
Dentistry	1969
Graduate College	1921
Medicine	1900
Fran and Earl Ziegler College of Nursing	1911
Pharmacy	1893
Hudson College of Public Health	1967

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Established as College of Geosciences, renamed in 2006.

Sources: 1) Gittinger, Roy. (1942). *The University of Oklahoma, A History of Fifty Years, 1892-1942.* Norman, OK. The University of Oklahoma Press.

- Long, Charles F. and Carolyn G. Hart. (1980). The Sooner Story, Ninety Years at the University of Oklahoma, 1890-1980. Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Foundation.
- 3) Office of News Services, University of Oklahoma.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Established as College of Liberal Studies, reorganized to include College of Continuing Education programs and renamed in 2017.