Skip Navigation

Sliepcevich, Cedomir

Skip Side Navigation

Cedomir M. "Cheddy" Sliepcevich

Dr. Sliepcevich passed away on October 22, 2009.

Cheddy Sliepcevich with the MV Methane Pioneer, the world’s first Ocean LNG carrier, designed and constructed by his team.

Dr. C.M. "Cheddy" Sliepcevich, devoted his life to teaching engineering and to improving the world through technology. He received his B.S. in 1941, M.S. in 1942 and Ph.D. in 1948, all from the University of Michigan in Chemical Engineering. Shortly after completing his undergraduate degree, he began a long list of firsts, which include a wide range of important contributions. The magnitude and quality of these contributions led to his selection as the recipient of the renowned American Chemical Society's International Ipatieff Prize 1959. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1972 and, in 1974, inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame

He came to OU in 1955 as a Professor and Chair of the School of Chemical Engineering and from 1956 through 1962, served as Associate Dean of the College. His leadership in research, graduate study, accreditation and faculty recruitment and development revitalized the College. In 1963, he returned to teaching and research full time as a George Lynn Cross Research Professor, the youngest person to receive this distinction. Cheddy pioneered the research, development and implementation of the first commercial process for liquefaction and ocean transport of liquefied natural gas (LNG) for which he received the 1986 Gas Industry Research Award from the American Gas Association Operating Section. His numerous awards also include the William H. Walker Award from AIChE, the Oklahoma Academy of Sciences Award of Merit, the University of Michigan's Sesquicentennial Award for Distinguished Alumni, and, in 1975, he was awarded OU's highest honor, the Distinguished Service Citation.

Although not a graduate of OU, he brought unparalleled honor and distinction to the College and the University during his distinguished 36-year career of teaching, research and administration. To honor his service he was chosen as the first recipient of an Honorary Membership in the College's Distinguished Graduates Society.