Skip Navigation

About Us

Skip Side Navigation

Our Mission

The school achieves its mission by preparing skilled social work practitioners who are committed to practice that includes services to the poor and oppressed, by improving and developing social service programs, and by promoting professionalism in social work in Oklahoma. To this end, the school offers two degree programs: an undergraduate major in social work leading to a Bachelor of Arts in Social Work and a graduate program leading to a Master of Social Work. The mission of the school follows:

The Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work advances relevant and high-quality knowledge and values of social work practice useful in preparing competent social workers who can elevate the status of people, populations or communities that experience considerable vulnerability and injustice within Oklahoma and the broader society.

The University of Oklahoma Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work aims to:

1. Develop social workers who are critical thinkers and competent at practice infused by professional values and ethics.

2. Prepare social workers with the knowledge and systemic skills necessary for effective practice with diverse individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities.

3. Respond to the professional practice needs of historically oppressed groups and diverse backgrounds in Oklahoma, the nation, and the globe.

4. Affect societal change by improving social service delivery systems through:

• faculty and student scholarship, research, and/or creative activities;

• service, leadership, and evaluation of state and national human service programs; and

• innovative continuing education and advanced training for practicing social work professionals. 

Brief History of Our MSW Program

Social work education has been a part of the curriculum at the University of Oklahoma since 1917. A separate School of Social Work was established in 1935. The graduate program was fully accredited in 1957 and has maintained continuous accreditation. The school became the Anne and Henry School of Social Work in 2009 and moved into its state of the art facility Anne and Henry Zarrow Hall in the fall of 2011.