Skip Navigation

Undergraduate Scholarships

Skip Side Navigation

Undergraduate Scholarships

Cuba & Ted Webb, Homer L. Dodge, & J. Clarence Karcher Scholarships for University of Oklahoma undergraduates majoring in Physics, Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Engineering Physics

Apply Online

Undergraduate majors of the Homer L. Dodge Department of Physics and Astronomy, and students thinking of physics, astrophysics, or engineering physics majors are encouraged to apply for the following scholarships. The department is participating in the University of Oklahoma Centralized Academic Scholarship Hub (CASH). Information and the application forms are available at:

OU Scholarships Online - deadline February 15, 2021

To apply, complete the General Appliciation and the College of Arts and Sciences Application. The Physics Scholarship Application is available by clicking on "Opportunities" at the top of the page, as well as other scholarships you can explore.

Students thinking of attending the University of Oklahoma as Physics, Astrophysics, or Engineering Physics majors can also use the CASH system as part of the application process.

General Requirements:

  • Students majoring in physics, astronomy, astrophysics, or engineering physics at the University of Oklahoma
  • Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 for current OU students and transfer students
  • 3.0 or equivalent high school math and science GPA for incoming freshmen
  • Selection criteria include: academic standing, research experience, and academic activity in the department, university, or school
  • Financial need is considered in the awarding of the Webb and Dodge scholarships
  • Previous scholarship recipients are eligible to reapply

The Physics and Astronomy Undergraduate Studies Committee is responsible for the selection of scholarship awardees.

Cuba and Ted Webb Scholarship

The Cuba and Ted Webb Scholarship was endowed by a gift from Cuba Webb and the late Dr. Ted Webb. The scholarship is presented annually to an outstanding upper-division departmental major on the basis of merit, need, and academic standing, research experience, and student activity within the department or at the university. In addition to a minimum OU cumulative GPA of 3.0, applicants must have a GPA of at least 3.25 in their major and already have completed the first year of studies in their major prior to application.

Homer L. Dodge Scholarship

The Homer L. Dodge Scholarship is funded by contributions from the faculty of the Homer L. Dodge Department of Physics and Astronomy and is awarded to a meritorious departmental major with documented need. Awards are dependent upon available funds. Applicants must have already completed at least one semester in the major prior to their application.

J. Clarence Karcher Scholarship

The J. Clarence Karcher Scholarships for the study of Physics, Astronomy, Astrophysics and Engineering Physics, are funded by an endowment established by the late Dr. J. Clarence Karcher and are awarded on the basis of academic merit as evidenced by grades, achievement test scores, and research activity. Karcher Scholars must major in Physics, Astronomy, Astrophysics, or Engineering Physics, maintain a high level of academic performance, and enroll each semester in a course specific to their major. Karcher Scholarships may be renewed, upon reapplication, through eight semesters of study in the student’s major. To recognize as many meritorious students as possible, the amount of funds provided by Karcher Scholarships will depend on both academic achievement and financial need.

Roy B. Adams Scholarship for Engineering Physics Majors

The Roy B. Adams Scholarship in Engineering Physics carries an award of up to $2000 and is presented annually by the College of Engineering to an outstanding Engineering Physics student nominated by the Engineering Physics Steering Committee. Applicants must have a minimum OU cumulative GPA of 3.0, be majoring in engineering physics at the University of Oklahoma at the time of their application, and have completed at least 30 semester hours in their major prior to receiving the Scholarship. Previous scholarship recipients are eligible to reapply. The selection criteria include: academic standing, research experience, activity in the department and university, and need. Priority is given to those students who do not already have substantial scholarship support from the University. Selection Committee — Members of the Engineering Physics Steering Committee are the Chair of the Engineering Physics Program and the Engineering Physics Advisor.