Skip Navigation

Notable Civic Leader And Education Advocate to Deliver OU Commencement Address

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

Notable Civic Leader And Education Advocate to Deliver OU Commencement Address





OU alumnus and president of Oklahoma City University Robert H. Henry will deliver the University of Oklahoma’s Commencement address at 7 p.m. Friday, May 12, in The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St.

“Judge Robert Henry is one of OU’s most distinguished graduate. A forceful advocate of education, he is a role model for public service for our entire community,” said OU President David Boren.

Henry is a distinguished legal and foreign relations scholar, public servant and civic leader. Appointed to the United States Court of Appeals for the 10th Circuit in 1994, he served as chief judge from January 2008 until June 2010. Prior to his service as chief judge, he served as attorney general of the state of Oklahoma from 1986 to 1991 and also served in the Oklahoma House of Representatives from 1976 to 1986, elected while still a student at the OU College of Law. He was principal author of the 1986 Oklahoma General Corporation Act that moved Oklahoma law to the Delaware corporate law model.

A leader in higher education, Henry was appointed as president of OCU in 2010. He previously served as dean and professor at OCU School of Law from 1991 to 1994. Henry also taught at the OU Honors College, OU College of Law and Oklahoma Baptist University and served as the inaugural Distinguished Judge in Residence at the University of Tulsa College of Law. He established the Henry Family Lecture Series at the OU College of Law, which continues to bring many notable speakers to campus such as former White House Counsel Greg Craig and, from the U.S. Supreme Court, Chief Justice John Roberts, Associate Justice Stephen Breyer and retired Associate Justice Sandra Day O’Connor. At OU, Henry also served on the advisory boards for the College of International Studies and the Honors College.

As a state representative, Henry co-authored the legislation that established the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics, where he also established the Senator Penny Williams Distinguished Lecture Series, which hosts national and international figures in the arts and sciences. He has presented numerous lectures across the country and abroad and is widely published in magazines, newspapers and various law reviews. His scholarship has been published by the university presses of Oxford, Nebraska and Oklahoma.

Henry currently serves as a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and is a life member of the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. His previous service includes the Advisory Board for the Judicial Outreach Program of the American Society of International Law and as a board member of the American Bar Association Rule of Law Initiative. He was the first chair of the ABA’s Middle East and North Africa Council. He succeeded Justice O’Connor as the U.S. representative to the Foundation for the Future, a human rights and prodemocracy organization, based in Amman, Jordan.

Henry currently serves on the boards of directors of Devon Energy and the Oklahoma Hall of Fame and has served on the boards of the Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce and Allied Arts Oklahoma City. Among many honors and accolades, he was named Leadership Oklahoma’s 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and was made an honorary member of the Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma.

A native of Shawnee, Henry received his bachelor’s degree in political science and a juris doctorate from OU in 1974 and 1976, respectively.

For more information about OU’s graduation ceremony, please visit

Recent News

OU Student Named Goldwater Scholar

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma honors student Matthew Peters has been named a 2018 Goldwater Scholar, placing OU in the top ranks of universities nationally with 53 Goldwater Scholars since the competition began in 1991. The prestigious scholarships are awarded on the basis of potential and intent to pursue research careers in mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering. Read more

OU to Hire Additional Clinical Psychologist

NORMAN—University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren announced Friday that adequate funding would be allocated to hire an additional psychologist at the University Counseling Center in order to further support mental health services for students and alleviate wait times. Read more

OU Radar Team Developing New Technologies for U.S. Navy Next-Generation Radar Systems

NORMAN –A University of Oklahoma Advanced Radar Research Center team is developing new antenna and related technologies for U.S. Navy next-generation radar systems with a two-year, $3.5 million grant from the U.S. Department of Defense, Office of Naval Research. The ARRC research and development program under way is designed to improve the agility and multi-functionality of radio frequency sensors and communication systems, while enabling future implementation on a variety of surfaces and platforms. Read more

OU Faculty Member Appointed Chair of International Astronomical Union Working Group

NORMAN –A University of Oklahoma professor, Steven Gullberg, has been appointed world chair for archeoastronomy by the International Astronomical Union. As chair, Gullberg will work with 31 nations to further the research and global advancement of archeoastronomy and astronomy in culture. Read more

OU Math Professors to Research Active Learning in Undergraduate Math Education

NORMAN –A University of Oklahoma mathematics professor, Milos Savic, has received a two-year, $93,298 grant from the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities to help undergraduate students pursuing science, technology, engineering and mathematics degrees succeed in introductory math courses. Savic and team will use the grant to improve and assess a recently-developed active learning pre-calculus course taught to 1,000 OU students each year.  Read more

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

April 2018

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or