Skip Navigation

Jesus E. Medina Named President of OU Physicians

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

Jesus E. Medina Named President of OU Physicians

Dr. Jesus E. Medina


OKLAHOMA CITY – Jesus E. Medina, M.D., an international leader in head and neck cancer surgery with 34 years of experience and devoted patient service at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, has been named president of the OU Physicians clinical group practice in Oklahoma City, the largest in Oklahoma. OU President David L. Boren made the announcement today at the September meeting of the OU Board of Regents.

“I can think of no stronger or more respected voice for our faculty than Dr. Jesus Medina,” said Boren. “His leadership will be invaluable as the OU Health Sciences Center goes through an important time of transition.”

As president of OU Physicians, Medina will work closely with the provost, dean of medicine and OU’s physician leaders to deliver exceptional quality care, recruit top physicians to Oklahoma and expand patient access to a premier academic health center in partnership with OU Medical System. He also will have the opportunity to enhance collaborations with OU Physicians in Tulsa, as well as coordinate care among networks of affiliated community healthcare providers. Medina will oversee and ensure the clinical practice continues to mutually support the teaching and research missions of the OU College of Medicine and OUHSC, including the development of new treatments and technologies, and will be appointed Associate Vice Provost for Clinical Programs and Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs.

“We are tremendously excited for Dr. Medina to assume this new leadership role of OU Physicians at a time of transformation for our health system” said OU Senior Vice President and Provost Jason Sanders.

Medina previously served as chairman of the Department of Otorhinolaryngology at the OU College of Medicine for 17 years. During his distinguished career in academic medicine, Medina has earned numerous state and national honors, including the Otis Sullivant Award for Perceptivity as well as an Honorary Degree from OU. He has served as president of the American Head and Neck Society, Triological Society, and Society of Head and Neck Surgeons. He has authored 122 papers, 68 book chapters and four textbooks. Being published this year, he co-authored Neck Dissections: Colour Atlas of Surgical Technique. Medina is a civic leader in the community, actively volunteering his time for numerous medical and humanitarian programs.

"I am deeply honored and excited at the opportunity to serve in this capacity during a time of unprecedented changes, both in our clinical organization and in OU Medical System and its affiliations with the OU Health Sciences Center," said Medina.

At OU Physicians, Medina will lead a clinical practice that encompasses almost every adult and child specialty that also includes more than 1,000 doctors and advanced practice providers. In patient satisfaction with provider care, OU Physicians is ranked among the top practices nationally, alongside Mayo Clinic, Stanford and Cleveland Clinic. OU Physicians provide advanced care for patients from across the region in partnership with OU Medical System, including OU Medical Center and the Children’s Hospital. OU Physicians also serve as faculty of the OU College of Medicine to train Oklahoma’s future doctors, physician associates and other critical healthcare professionals.


Recent News

OU Professor to Receive IEEE Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award

NORMAN — A University of Oklahoma professor, Mohammed Atiquzzaman, is the recipient of the prestigious Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award for 2018. The annual award is given to an accomplished, senior-level researcher who has achieved outstanding results in satellite communications and recognizes excellent scientific contributions done by academia and industries. Atiquzzaman will receive the award at the IEEE International Conference on Communications in Kansas City, Missouri, May 20-24. Read more

OU Physicist Developing Quantum-Enhanced Sensors for Real-Life Applications

NORMAN — A University of Oklahoma physicist, Alberto M. Marino, is developing quantum-enhanced sensors that could find their way into applications ranging from biomedical to chemical detection. In a new study, Marino’s team, in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, demonstrates the ability of quantum states of light to enhance the sensitivities of state-of-the-art plasmonic sensors. The team presents the first implementation of a sensor with sensitivities considered state-of-the-art and shows how quantum-enhanced sensing can find its way into real-life applications. Read more

OU Class of 2018 Gift to Honor Borens

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma Class of 2018 will celebrate their time at OU through a dedicated green space that will add to OU’s national reputation as one of America’s most beautiful campuses. Located along Lindsey Street in front of the newly completed Residential Colleges, this year’s class gift will fund a picturesque lawn named The Boren Green. Read more

OU Students Receive National Security Education Program Award for International Study

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma senior James Ratcliff and OU junior Libby Trowbridge recently were selected as recipients of the prestigious Boren Award for International Study, sponsored by the National Security Education Program. Thirty-four OU students have received the award since the program began in 1994. Read more

OU-Led Research Team Accelerating Antibiotic Discovery

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma professors, Helen Zgurskaya and Valentin Rybenkov, and team are addressing the challenge and critical need for new antibiotics that can fight infections caused by the multi-drug resistant bacterium, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, considered an urgent threat by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The OU team responded to a special request for applications from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, and received a five-year, $5.7 million grant to develop new, more effective approaches against Gram-negative bacteria that are protected by multi-drug efflux pumps and low-permeability membranes. Read more

OU Study Explains Why Mars Growth Stunted

NORMAN — A University of Oklahoma astrophysics team explains why the growth of Mars was stunted by an orbital instability among the outer solar system’s giant planets in a new study on the evolution of the young solar system. The OU study builds on the widely-accepted Nice Model, which invokes a planetary instability to explain many peculiar observed aspects of the outer solar system. An OU model used computer simulations to show how planet accretion (growth) is halted by the outer solar system instability. Without it, Mars possibly could have become a larger, habitable planet like Earth. Read more

OU Regents' Alumni Awards to be Presented to Fourteen Outstanding Individuals

NORMAN — Fourteen exceptional University of Oklahoma alumni will receive Regents’ Alumni Awards for their dedication and service to OU in a ceremony scheduled for Friday, May 11, on the Norman campus. Being honored are: Michael Burrage, Chris Cheatwood, James L. Gallogly, Joi S. Gordon, Sam Hinkie, Jerry D. Holmes, Phil Kramer, Julia Mainini, Robert S. McKenny, Sr., Gracie Evans Montgomery, John D. Montgomery, Jr., David R. Proctor, Jerry J. Ransom, Shawn Emerson Simmons. Read more

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

May 2018

April 2018

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or