Skip Navigation

Arts! Arts! Arts!

Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation


Benefiting students of the Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts

Award Tribute and Celebration • March 3, 2019 • OU Memorial Union Ballroom

Arts Arts Arts Gala

ARTS! ARTS! ARTS! is the annual fundraiser for the OU Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts. Thanks to the support of our many friends, ARTS! ARTS! ARTS! has raised $1,000,000. The entertaining gala event raises much-needed funds for enrichment opportunities such as student scholarships, travel grants and other opportunities to enhance students' educational and artistic development as well as faculty development. The 2019 event committee is led by Co-Chairs Steve and Jackie Pugh.

Meet Mary Jo Heath “Voice of the Met”

Mary Jo Heath

The first-ever ARTS LUMINARY AWARD will be presented to Mary Jo Heath, 1979 Masters of Music graduate with the OU School of Music. Heath is in her fourth season as radio host of the Metropolitan Opera broadcasts, heard live by almost eight million people worldwide each week with more than 70 live broadcasts of 25 different operas each season. She is only the fourth “Voice of the Met” in the history of the house since the broadcasts began in 1931. A native of Norman, OK, she graduated from the University of Oklahoma with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music. and while still a student was the first Music Director of Norman’s Cimarron Circuit Opera Company. She left Oklahoma for Rochester, NY, where she earned a Ph.D. in music theory from the Eastman School of Music.