Skip Navigation
School of Music Website WordmarkOU homepageSchool of Music homepage

Student & Faculty Successes


March 2017

Ladies Music Club of OKC Young Artists Competition

OU Bassoonists, Jared Shay (Soph BM/BME) and Daniel Kavelman (Freshman BM/Engineering), participated in the Ladies Music Club of OKC Young Artists Competition. Daniel Kavelman earned Third Alternate.

February 2017

OU MTNA Collegiate Chapter


The University of Oklahoma MTNA Collegiate Chapter has been selected as the 2017 Music Teachers National Association Collegiate Chapter of the Year.  This honor recognizes the University of Oklahoma MTNA Collegiate Chapter’s commitment to the music teaching profession and MTNA.  The committee felt that the OU chapter’s activities were strongly oriented toward excellent music making and teaching, and that the chapter was doing excellent work in advancing the profession among the next generation of teachers. They will receive the award at the March 2017 National Conference in Baltimore.

February 2017

Piano Student Employment/Appointments

Christopher Madden, DMA ABD, was appointed as Lecturer in Piano at Baylor University for the 2016-2017 academic term for a a one-year, full-time appointment.  In fall 2017, he joins the faculty at Texas Women’s University as Assistant Professor in Piano Pedagogy in a tenure track position.  

Lynn Worcester, DMA 2015, has been named Instructor of Piano Performance and Pedagogy for the 2016-17 academic year at the University of Northern Iowa.  

Patrick Lahan, Cindy Graeler, Christina Kettering (Graduates, 2016) recently opened private piano studios in Baltimore, St. Louis, and Panama City, FL respectively.