Skip Navigation

Severe Weather Refuge on Campus

OU Emergency Preparedness, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation

Severe Weather Refuge on Campus

Building Name Street Address Severe Weather Refuge Area Building Safety Coordinator Contact Information
Adams Center Dormitory 348 W. First St. Basement, Hallways of floors 2-6 (with all doors closed); Restrooms of floors 2-6 (with doors closed) Miles Kelly mkelly@ou.edu
Adams Hall or Price Hall 1003 Asp Ave. Room E4: Main corridor first floor of Adams; Room 1C: Office storage; Room 1Q: Copy/storage room; Room E5: Corridor in Adams, first floor Beth Gatewood egatewood@ou.edu
Andrew M. Coats Hall 300 West Timberdell Rd. First floor, below grade Glen Pinkston GlenP@ou.edu
Animal Holding Facility 730 Van Vleet Oval George Lynn Cross Hall Basement TBD TBD
Anne and Henry Zarrow Hall 700 Elm Ave. Kitchen room 140; First floor bathrooms, hallway in front of family restroom; First floor hallway if everyone is on the floor in front of classrooms 115, 120 and 105/110; Either one of the stairwells if on the first floor Nancy Nichols njnichols@ou.edu
Armory 290 W. Brooks St. First floor gym within the midshipman room Jayson Rimer jayson.rimer@ou.edu
Bizzell Memorial Library 401 W. Brooks St. Lower levels one and two in designated areas Larry Myers Larry.L.Myers-1@ou.edu
Boomer Outreach Building 300 Kellogg Dr. OCCE Forum Basement; OCCE Administration Basement Roberto Voci rvoci@ou.edu
Buchanan Hall 1000 Asp Ave. First-floor bathrooms; Admissions office room 131; Admissions office closet in front office area; Bursar office break room Jean Ware jware@ou.edu
Burton Hall 610 Elm Ave. First Floor Hallway; One of the interior offices on the first floor with no windows Kristi Wright cosmo@ou.edu
Carnegie Building 650 Parrington Oval Basement level of the building in areas with no outside doors or windows, for example, area at bottom of stairs outside room 112, Men's and women's restrooms; Hallways outside restrooms; Interior offices and hallways, keeping all doors and windows closed Cyndy Adams coadams@ou.edu
Carpenter Hall 840 Asp Ave. Center Hallway on ground floor Ashton Byrum abyrum@ou.edu
Carson Engineering Center 202 W. Boyd St. Subbasement and tunnel Kristi Boren kdboren@ou.edu
Cate Center Dining Hall Closed for remodel TBD TBD
Cate Center 1 Move to Honors via covered walkway, and seek refuge in east side first floor restrooms Tami Kinsey tkinsey@ou.edu
Cate Center 2 Closed for remodel Brenda Mackey bmackey@ou.edu
Cate Center 3 32 Cate Center Dr. Second and third floor hallways for the two center houses in each building with all doors closed TBD TBD
Cate Center 4 East side corridor first floor from OUPD to double doors. West side first floor corridor between two overhead exit sides. Donna Willis dwillis@ou.edu
Ceramics Studio and Kiln Facility 401 E. Congress St. Room 114; The kiln room; The NE corner of the building with all the doors and windows closes Stuart Asprey stuart@ou.edu stuart@ou.edu
Collums Building 201 E. Lindsey St. Room 132 for Biology staff and students; Room 130 for Health Excercise Science staff and students; Printing break room and adjoining hallway for Printing, Mailing and Document Services staff William Wright andywright@ou.edu
Copeland Hall 860 Van Vleet Oval Restrooms located on the first floor of Copeland Hall; Hallway outside the restrooms on the first floor;Oklahoma Daily Break Room 170; Oklahoma Daily Conference Room 173; Sooner Yearbook office Room 174 TBD TBD
Collings Hall 820 Van Vleet Oval Basement, if basement utilized to capacity move overflow to first floor hallway with all doors closed Barbi Delong bdelong@ou.edu
Couch Restaurants 309 W. Third St. Central hallway between walk-in coolers and freezers TBD TBD
Couch Center Dormitory 1524 Asp Ave. Students, faculty, staff into hardend storm shelter; Basement thru 6th floor elevator lobbies except first floors; Basement laundry; Basement restrooms and hallway; Hallways of floors 1-6 (with all hallway doors closed); Restrooms of floors 1-6 (with doors closed) Derrick Binsfield dbinsfield@ou.edu
Cross Village 1691 Asp Ave. Cross A: Black Box Theater (east wing, faces east) Cross B: DIY Space (west wing, faces west) Cross C: Cycle Studio (South east wing, faces east) Cross D: Rehearsal Nook (south wing) Younna Smith yosmith@ou.edu
Dunham College 250 W. Lindsey St. Storm Shelter in the basement of Dunham Hall Yolande Graham yolande.graham@ou.edu
Headington College 200 W. Lindsey St. Storm Shelter in the basement of Headington Nicole Shipes nshipes@ou.edu
Headington Hall 100 E. Lindsey St. Stairwells 3, 4, and 5 Kyle Butcher kyleb@ou.edu
Kraettli Apartments 212-A Wadsack Dr. Storm Shelter at Kraettli Ben Stapp bstapp@ou.edu
Traditions Square East 2500 Asp Ave. Storm Shelter at Traditions East Ashley McClain amclain@ou.edu
Traditions Square West 2730 S. Chautauqua Ave. Storm Shelter at Traditions West Asisha Waghmarae adishawt@ou.edu
Walker Center 1400 Asp Ave. Storm Shelter (on site); Basement thru 6th floor elevator; Lobbies except first floors; Basement laundry; Basement restrooms and hallway; Hallways of floors 1-(with all hallway doors closed); Restrooms of floors 1-5 (with doors closed) Rodney Bates
Dale Hall 433 W. Lindsey St. Basement
Dale Hall Tower 455 W. Lindsey St. First floor hallways outside Rooms 105 and 107 (with all doors closed); Stairwell on first floor Shelby Hill s.hill@ou.edu
Devon Energy Hall 110 W. Boyd St. Basement and adjoining tunnels Virginie Perez Woods virginieperezwoods@ou.edu
Ellison Hall 633 Elm Ave Interior hallway in advising on the first floor Cassie Zaccarelli cassiezacc@ou.edu
Engineering Labratory 200 Felgar St. First floor in the interior offices, classrooms; Restrooms and hallways with all doors on the exterior side of the building closed Larissa Mairners larissa@ou.edu
Evans Hall 660 Parrington Oval Basement Michael Giesecke mg@ou.edu
Rawl Engineering Practice Facility 850 S. Jenkins Building 34 In the tunnel Jimmy Cannon jimmyray@ou.edu
Facilities Management Complex 160 Felgar St. Ground floor restrooms, or lower level of Sarkeys Energy Center N/A N/A
Felgar Hall 865 Asp Ave Hallways of first floor with all doors closed Matthew Grover magrover@ou.edu
Sarkeys Fitness Center 1401 Asp Ave Basement, particulary the locker rooms and associated hallways Malinda Williams mdwilliams@ou.edu
Murray Case Sells Swim Complex 1701 Asp Ave Lifeguard room, men's and women's restrooms Stephanie Peruttzi sputman@ou.edu
Gaylord Hall 395 W. Lindsey St. Stairwells on first floor; Rooms 1113, 1115, 1033, 1031, 1050, 1605, 1565, 1561, 145A Grant Powell grantpowell@ou.edu
George Lynn Cross Hall 770 Van Vleet Oval Basement Bradley Stevenson bradley.stevenson@ou.edu
Goddard Health Center 620 Elm Ave. Basement, Seminar Room, and Hallway Roy Garren rgarren@ou.edu
Gould Hall 830 Van Vleet Oval Garden level ground floor of Gould Hall: A, C, and D wings, away from windows  Jerry Puckett Jerry.puckett@ou.edu
Greenhouse Facility 770 Van Vleet Oval George Lynn Cross Hall Basement N/A N/A
Henderson-Tolson Cultural Center 1335 Asp Ave. Men's and women's restrooms on the first floor N/A N/A
Farzaneh Hall (Formally known as Hester Hall) 729 Elm Ave. Stairway C; Room 145, Room 149, Rom 144A, Room 138, Rom 135, Room 108; Family Restroom on first floor; Hallway outside restrooms on first floor Becky Wilson rjwilson@ou.edu
Jacobson Faculty Hall 550 Parrington Oval Basement Crystal Ary crystalary@ou.edu
Kaufman Hall 780 Van Vleet Oval First floor interior hall on the east side of building with all doors closed Mona Springfield mspringfield@ou.edu
Landscape and Grounds Building 1341 Asp Ave. 1341 Asp Ave employees should immediately seek shelter at the Huston Huffman Center in the east locker room in the basement N/A N/A
Monnet Hall 630 Parrington Oval Basement rooms 2, 6, 6a, 9, 11; First floor: Small office in Carl Albert main office; Small closet in Carl Albert main office; Small kitchen in Carl Albert main office; Copy Room in Carl Albert main office; World Lit room 105B Katherine McRae mcrae@ou.edu
Nielsen Hall 440 W. Brooks St. Basement Hallways Chad Cunningham chadcunningham@ou.edu
Nuclear Engineering Laboratory 905 Asp Ave. Room 109, 109c, 109F and interior hallways with all doors closed-Risk Management; Room 113- Open Records; Room 120-Telecomm; Room 128-Telecomm Tammy Porter tporter@ou.edu
OCCE Administration Building 1700 Asp Ave. Basement level, away from center of the building Melh Ross rmehl@ou.edu
OCCE McCarter Hall of Advanced Studies 1610 Asp Ave. Basement John Boekenoogen jrboek@ou.edu
OCCE Sooner Suites 1775 Maple Ave. Restrooms, interior hallways, and closets; IF enough time move to Forum Basement N/A N/A
OCCE Thurman J. White Forum Building 1704 Asp Ave. Basement Jake Maurer jpmaurer@ou.edu
Oklahoma Biological Survey 111 E. Chesapeake St. First floor hallway and restrooms Ranell Madding rmadding@ou.edu
Oklahoma Memorial Union 900 Asp Ave. Occupants who are in the Crossroads area should use the Crossroad Manager's office; Boomer Room; Hallway to the Conoco Wing (outside the Boomer room); The Crossroads office; Crossroads Lounge; If possible, the OU Federal Credit Union back office. Protection should not be taken in areas with exterior windows or doors; Lowest level of the Annex and remain in the hallway with all the doors closed Steve Willingham swillingham@ou.edu
Old Chemistry Building and Annex 620 Parrington Oval Basement hallway away from stairwells with all doors closed, areas B4 and B5 on east side of building Kimberly Mosier chittlin@ou.edu
Old Faculty Club 409 W. Boyd St. Lower level; The 1/2 basement level interior hall; Interior hall restroom (under and east of the stairs and in the center of the south end of the building) Sharon Burchett sburchett@ou.edu
Physical Sciences Center 601 Elm Ave. Floors 1 through 4: Interior corridors and lobbies away from glass entrance areas; All classrooms, laboratories, offices and toliet rooms are also considered equally safe Steven Marshall steven.marshall@ou.edu
Recruitment Services (suites 130, 204, 205, 213) 756 Asp Ave. restrooms on first floor N/A N/A
Richards Hall 730 Van Vleet Oval Basement George Martin gmartin@ou.edu
Robertson Hall 731 Elm Ave. first floor center hallway with all doors and windows closed Diana Beal dbeal@ou.edu
Sam Noble Electron Microscopy Laboratory 1060 Asp Ave. Basement of George Lynn Cross Hall Preston Larson plarson@ou.edu
S.J. Sarkeys Complex 1401 Asp Ave. In the laboratory areas in the basement; Through the door that joins our building to the fitness center and then into the locker areas Malinda Williams mdwilliams@ou.edu
Sarkeys Energy Center 100 E. Boyd St. First floor corridors without sky lights, first floor classrooms Allison Richardson arichardson@ou.edu
Sutton Hall 625 Elm St. Basement of Sutton Hall (including the two labs located in the basement if needed for overflow and a building representative present in the labs); First floor bathroom with all doors closed Ann R. Harris annharris@ou.edu
Jim Thorpe Multicultural Center 1620 Asp Ave. Basement Quy Nguyen qnguyen@ou.edu
Lissa and Cy Wagner Hall 1005 Asp Ave. Freshman Programs Suite, including workroom (excluding the Director's office with the overhead window); men's restroom Robin Mize rmize@ou.edu
Wallace Old Science Hall 640 Parrington Oval South central hallway on the first floor Kristine Betz kbetz@ou.edu
Web Communications 765 Asp Ave. Restrooms on the first floor of recruitment services Tom Ashley tom@ou.edu
Whitehand Hall 339 W. Boyd St. first floor hallway south of reception area with all doors closed Sandra Brown sjbrown@ou.edu
Zarrow Hall 700 Elm Ave. Kitchen room 140; First floor bathrooms, hallway in front of family restroom; First floor hallway if everyone is on the floor in front of classrooms 115, 120 and 105/110; Either one of the stairwells if on the first floor Nancy Nichols njnichols@ou.edu
Catlett Music Center 500 W. Boyd St. Men's Restroom Room 039; Women's Restroom Room 040; Hallway west side of men's restroom between rooms 029 and 036 away froom windows; Hallway with lockers and stairway behind stairs; Classrooms 0006, 007, 008, 009, 014, 015, 022; Hallway near vending machines; Stairway 023; Area behind Short Hall Eric Walschap ericw@ou.edu
Fine Arts Center 563 Elm Ave. Basement Jeff Baldwin jbaldwin@ou.edu
Fred Jones Jr. Art Center 520 Parrington Oval Basement Meisa Miller mmiller@ou.edu
Fred Jones Jr. Mueseum of Art 555 Elm Ave. Basement N/A N/A
Reynolds Performing Arts Center 560 Parrington Oval The basement area between the hall side of the building and the dance school area. This area is just outside the elevator doors in the basement. Do not go in the pit area of the hall that is attached to the hallway. Marissa Tippett muyemur6154@ou.edu
L. Dale Mitchell Baseball Park 401 West Imhoff Rd Home and visitor locker rooms, coach's office, training room, tunnel between dugout and clubhouses; Fan accomodations will be determined game by game and likely move to Lloyd Noble Center. N/A N/A
Llody Noble Center 2900 S. Jenkins Ave. Patrons  sitting in the upper levels of the arena should go to the upper concourse, concourse restrooms, and concession stands. Patrons, players and staff sitting in LW2-LW6, LN1-LN8, LE1-LE5 and the floor area should proceed to the south ramp and lower level dressing rooms Kevin McIntyre kmac@ou.edu
Everest Training Center 365 E. Lindsey St. Move to Mosier indoor locker rooms; training rooms; bathrooms, and "cross shaped" hallways with doors closed. N/A N/A
Gaylord Family Oklahoma Memorial Stadium 180 W. Brooks St. Will vary depending upon event taking place N/A N/A
Charlie Coe Golf Learning Center 4 Par Dr. Restrooms off lobby both men's and women's N/A N/A
Sam Viersen Gymnastics Center 325 W. Imhoff Rd. Men's and Women's locker rooms and laundry room N/A N/A
Varsity Rowing Practice Facility 500 GT Blankenship Blvd. Bathroom; Staff locker rooms and 2 team locker rooms N/A N/A
Al Velie Rugby Football Complex N/A Move to Wadley Tennis Pavillion next door N/A N/A
John Crain Soccer Field 2915 Chautauqua Ave. Move to Wadley Tennis Pavillion next door N/A N/A
Marita Hynes Softball Field 2500 S. Jenkins Ave. Relocate to Coats Hall N/A N/A
Headington Family Tennis Center and Wadley Tennis Pavillion 500 W. Imhoff Rd. Interior guest, women's and men's locker rooms; Interior OU team locker room; 2 interior bathrooms N/A N/A
Jacobs Track and Field Facility 1060 Asp Ave. Move to Mosier indoor locker rooms; training rooms; bathrooms, and "cross shaped" hallways with doors closed. N/A N/A
Mosier Indoor Athletic Facility 395 E. Lindsey St. Move to Mosier indoor locker rooms; training rooms; bathrooms, and "cross shaped" hallways with doors closed. N/A N/A
Howard McCasland Field House 151 W. Brooks St. First floor locker rooms and restroom and concessions with no windows N/A N/A
North Base Facilities Management 1620 Westheimer Dr. Airport Terminal building restrooms and interior hallway N/A N/A
Max Westheimer Airport and Terminal Building 1700 Lexington Ave. Ste 212 Restrooms and interior hallway in terminal Judy Estes jlestes@ou.edu
NC210 N/A NC201 subbasement Kenneth Carson kencarson@ou.edu
NC366 - Radar Building 1424 Halley Ave. Conference Room N/A N/A
Merrick Computing Center N/A TBD Bill Gerhman gerhman@ou.edu
Theta M. Dempsey Transportation Operation Center/Fleet Services 510 E. Chesapeake St. Conference room 116 Leon Fourcade lfourcade@ou.edu
Hazardous Materials Management Center 519 Chesapeake St. Room 105; 100. If Hazmat in those areas, move to OUPD next door. N/A N/A
Landscape Operators Shop 2729 S. Monitor Lowest Approved area in Lloyd Noble N/A N/A
OUPD Joseph K. Lester Building 2775 Monitor Ave. Computer server room 103 N/A N/A
National Weather Center 120 David L. Boren Blvd. Rooms 1313 and 1350 Tanya Guthrie tguthrie@ou.edu
One Partners Place 350 David L. Boren Blvd. First floor hallway through/behind door 1500; First floor restrooms; Rooms 1070/1071/1072 (WNI employees); Rooms 1524,1600,1650 (Atkins employees) Kristen Burkett kburkett@ou.edu
Two Partners Place 3100 Monitor Ave. first floor restrooms and room 189(CSA employees) Melissa Harris mharris@ou.edu
Three Partners Place 201 David. L Boren Blvd. Interior stairwell up to 2nd landing; First floor restrooms/showers; Second floor restrooms for overflow Kristin Garcia kgarcia@ou.edu
Four Partners Place 301 David L. Bored Blvd. First and third floors go to first floor restrooms; Second floor go to second floor restrooms; Room 1000A (OU Title IX employees) Ruth Ann Shaffer rashaffer@ou.edu
Five Partners Place 201 Stephenson Parkway First floor restrooms, 1004, 1005, 1006; First floor showers 1015 and 1016; First floor Stairwell A up to 3rd landing. Michelle Dewes michelleok@ou.edu
Radar Innovations Laboratory 3190 Monitor Ave. Fabrication Lab/Machine Shop: Go to hallway between these two rooms;Highbay: Go to men or women's locker rooms;All others: Go to first floor men or women's restrooms Danny Feland dfeland@ou.edu
Stephenson Life Sciences Research Center 101 Stephenson Parkway Lowest level of the stairwell in southeast corner of the building. Carol Jones caroljones@ou.edu
Stephenson Research and Technology Center 101 David L. Boren Blvd. First floor rooms 1150, 1150C, Men's and Women's restrooms; Room 1007 Dora Rapp drapp@ou.edu