Skip Navigation

Outstanding Programs, Caring Faculty

Residents in the OU-TU School of Community Medicine are trained in population-based healthcare management, improving patient care and increased patient satisfaction. These areas of concentration prepare our residents to be successful physicians in any clinical setting in a rural or urban community. To enjoy video overviews of our dynamic residency programs, click below:

Residency Program Video Overviews

Departments & Residency Programs


The training at the School of Community Medicine is excellent as shown by our outstanding board pass rate and most importantly the attitudes of our residents and faculty. The City of Tulsa is a must see! It is a hidden secret of beauty, culture, rolling hills, friendly environment and ample entertainment.

The University of Oklahoma was founded in 1890 and has provided Oklahomans excellence in undergraduate and graduate education for more than a century. The College of Medicine was organized in 1900, emerged as a four-year degree-granting school in the early 1900s and awarded its first degree in 1911. To expand medical education in Oklahoma, the School of Community Medicine, formerly known as the College of Medicine-Tulsa, was established in 1972.

The physicians in the School of Community Medicine have formed a group practice, OU Physicians. In addition to their commitment to education and research, the OU Physicians are experienced, cutting-edge clinical practitioners with a great deal to offer referring physicians and their patients.



James Herman, M.D., MSPH, DEAN

Dr. Herman

University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren named Dr. James M. Herman as Dean of the School of Community Medicine in Tulsa, following an extensive national search. The school has expanded from a clinical two-year campus for third- and fourth-year students to a four-year campus that is a joint project between the University of Tulsa and OU. Dr. Herman oversees  the OU-TU School of Community Medicine, which began classes with 25 first-year medical students last August.

Learn more


New Appointment

Associate Dean for Clnical Affiairs and Chief Medical Officer

John Krueger, MD, MPH, started in May as the Chief Medical Officer for OU Physicians-Tulsa and Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs for the OU-TU School of Community Medicine.  Dr. Krueger is a graduate of the OU College of Medicine.

Dr. Krueger is responsible for clinical leadership, quality, and patient safety by overseeing clinical practices, protocols of care, quality assurance and resource utilization for OU Physicians. He also ensures that healthcare services are delivered in a culture that focuses on patient care and safety.   As a faculty member, he serves as lead educator for physicians, residents, medical students  and staff. 

Learn more