Skip Navigation
OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage

OU Sets All-Time High Retention Record

NORMAN — For the second year in a row, the University of Oklahoma has set an all-time record of over 92 percent freshman-to-sophomore retention, ranking OU among the top universities in the nation, both public and private. Of the first-year students who entered OU in the fall of 2016,

92.1 percent returned for their sophomore year beginning fall 2017. This places OU in the top 30 public research institutions in the nation currently reporting retention rates of 92 percent or higher.

“OU continues to demonstrate extraordinary commitment to retaining our first-year students,” said OU President David L. Boren. “Our students return each year because they know there is a community of people here who care about them. Our students were recently ranked the happiest of any public university in the nation. This accomplishment is further evidence that when we put students first, the University of Oklahoma can stand as a leader in public higher education.”

Although the latest nationwide figures are not yet available, only 34 research universities –

30 public and 4 private – currently report retention rates of 92 percent or higher. They include Cornell University, University of Southern California and New York University among others.

OU was recently ranked among the top 50 public colleges and universities in the nation, according to U.S. News & World Report. For the 2018 Best Colleges rankings, the publication based its findings on several key measures of quality, including the rate of freshman retention. 


Recent News

OU Researchers Harness Methane-Consuming Microbes

NORMAN — A University of Oklahoma research team, led by OU Professor Lee Krumholz, is studying methane-consuming microbes from extreme environments that can be re-engineered for industrial applications, such as biodegradable plastics and electricity. Read More

OU Recognized Nationally as Bicycle Friendly University

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma was today awarded with a silver Bicycle Friendly University designation by the League of American Bicyclists. “This is an exciting honor for the university,” said OU President David L. Boren.  Read More

Archie W. Dunham to Receive OU Award

NORMAN — Retired chairman of ConocoPhillips and chairman emeritus of Chesapeake Energy Corporation, Archie W. Dunham, will be honored as the eighth recipient of the Oklahoma Trailblazer Award presented by the University of Oklahoma Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy. Read More

Douglas D. Gaffin Named Interim Dean

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren today named award-winning OU educator Douglas D. Gaffin, Ph.D., as interim dean of the Joe C. and Carole Kerr McClendon Honors College, succeeding David Ray, Ph.D., whose retirement takes effect in December. Read More

News Archives

2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  |  2012

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or