Skip Navigation

Historic Holmberg Hall Celebrates 100th Anniversary

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation


NORMAN — Among the University of Oklahoma’s most recognizable communal facilities as well as one of the state’s most historic buildings, Holmberg Hall celebrates its 100th anniversary in 2018.

Built in 1918 and first named The Auditorium, it was renamed Holmberg Hall in 1938 in honor of Fredrik Holmberg (1872-1936), distinguished professor of music and first dean of the College of Fine Arts. Holmberg was a steadfast advocate for fine arts education at OU and throughout the state.

“Holmberg Hall is more than just a building—it is an Oklahoma treasure and a monument to the importance of fine arts,” said OU President David L. Boren. “It also holds great personal significance to me. From debate tournaments in my student years to major announcements about my tenure at OU, Holmberg Hall has been a special venue to me throughout my life.”

In 2005, under Boren’s leadership, the building underwent a multimillion-dollar renovation funded principally by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation. The original building, with the addition of a new dance wing, renovated practice rooms and restoration of the performance hall, was then renamed the Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center.

The iconic building known commonly as Historic Holmberg Hall has been recognized as one of the top 15 among the 50 most beautiful conservatories and Schools of Music in the nation. The hall stands prominently over Parrington Oval in an architecture style known as Cherokee Gothic, a term coined by renowned architect Frank Lloyd Wright when he visited the campus. The design reflects classic gothic architecture mixed with influences from the American Indian tribes of Oklahoma.

Turreted towers and medieval wooden doorways greet patrons. Crimson carpet and cream walls sweep through the lobby with statues, paintings and unique photographs that showcase the impressive history of the building. A colorful mural anchors the lobby and includes an expansive frieze depicting a number of the distinguished guests to have visited the historic hall.

Holmberg Hall has hosted some of the state’s most memorable events and well known visitors, including President William Howard Taft, piano virtuoso Van Cliburn, jazz legend Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong, American violinist Isaac Stern, legendary mezzo-soprano Marilyn Horne, interpretive storyteller Te Ata Fisher and modern dancer Martha Graham.

Additionally, several of the university’s landmark events occurred in Holmberg Hall, including OU football Coach Bud Wilkinson’s national trophy presentation as well as then-U.S. Senator David L. Boren’s acceptance speech for the OU presidency in 1994. More recently, in September 2017, Boren also selected this stage for announcing his plans to retire as president after serving the university for more than 23 years.

The building’s showpiece is Oklahoma’s only European-style performance hall. With a 677-seat capacity, the venue was restored to its original design in 2005, including the domed ceiling. Modern acoustical features were added in addition to a new stage tower, orchestra pit and renovated stage areas.

"Holmberg Hall has seen literally thousands of students launch their careers during their years at OU,” said Mary Margaret Holt, dean of the Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts. “From those who have gone on to perform in Broadway musicals and national tours to countless others performing in professional theatres, dance companies and orchestras as well as graduates who have become professional designers and technicians, all have benefitted from the opportunity to work in this exceptional OU landmark. Under President Boren's leadership, the renovation to the hall in 2005 ensured that it will continue to serve the arts, our university and central Oklahoma communities, and our students with its state of the art technology, beauty and tradition."

Today, the performance hall continues to host many facets of the fine arts at OU, where student performers enhance their talents in concerts, opera, musical theatre, drama and dance productions before often going on to perform professionally throughout the nation and around the world.


Recent News

OU Norman Campus to Close For Maintenance March 19-20

NORMAN - Due to a request by OG&E to perform significant electrical maintenance work, the Norman campus of the University of Oklahoma will close on Monday, March 19 and Tuesday, March 20, 2018. Read more

OU to Host Fifth Annual Conference for First-Generation and Minority Students

NORMAN – The Office of University Community at the University of Oklahoma will host its fifth annual George McLaurin and Sylvia A. Lewis Leadership Conference, a program aimed at connecting OU with talented first-generation and minority students. Read more

OU Board of Regents Elects Bennett, Rainbolt-Forbes as Officers

NORMAN — Clayton I. Bennett of Oklahoma City has been re-elected as chairman of the University of Oklahoma Board of Regents and Leslie Rainbolt-Forbes, M.D., has been re-elected as vice chairman of the board. Read more

James Pappas Admin Building Dedicated

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma today dedicated the James P. Pappas University Outreach Administration Building located at 1700 Asp Ave.  Read more

Dean Rick Luce Announces Plans to Retire

NORMAN – Following a long and distinguished career in libraries, Rick Luce, University of Oklahoma Libraries’ dean, professor and Peggy V. Helmerich chair, and associate vice president for research, is announcing his retirement, effective July 1, 2018. Read more

Drama School Alumna Earns Recognition

NORMAN — Paige Hathaway, 2011 graduate of the bachelor of fine arts scenic design program in the University of Oklahoma Helmerich School of Drama, earned the 2018 Rising Star Award, presentedby the United States Institute for Theatre Technology. The Rising Star Award, established by LDI and Live Design Magazine, recognizes excellence and artistic achievement in the areas of scenic, lighting, sound and projection design, or the convergence of these design disciplines. Read More

OU Residential Colleges Recognized As Outstanding Development Project

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma’s Residential Colleges recently won the “Large Scale Development” category in the Urban Land Institute Oklahoma’s fourth annual Impact Awards held at the Tower Theater in Oklahoma City.   Read More

OU Professor Elected as Fellow of Ecological Society of America

NORMAN —A University of Oklahoma professor, Jizhong Zhou, has been elected as a 2018 Fellow of the Ecological Society of America for outstanding accomplishments in environmental genomics and microbial ecology. Zhou and other ESA fellows will be recognized during the society’s annual meeting in New Orleans, Aug. 5-10. Read More

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or

2018 News Archives

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or