Skip Navigation
Office of the Senior Vice President & Provost WebsiteOU homepageProvost homepage

Awards & Professorships

Faculty Awards

OU celebrates the great achievements of its talented faculty through a variety of awards and recognitions. These include Distinguished Professorships, Regents' Awards, and numerous honors that recognize outstanding teaching, research, advising, and public outreach.

Visit our new Faculty Awards page for more information about awards, criteria, and nomination procedures. 


Staff Awards

Provost’s Outstanding Academic Advising Administrator Award

The Provost’s Outstanding Academic Advising Administrator Award was established to recognize and reward Academic Advising Administrators who have demonstrated outstanding guidance and leadership in the management of advising centers within the academic advising community, as well as, in the academic advising of undergraduate and/or graduate students. Particular attention will be given to advising administrators who have been instrumental in collaborative efforts across the University that help students better negotiate the complexities of the entire University and achieve their degree goals.

Provost’s Outstanding Academic Advising Award

The Provost’s Outstanding Academic Advising Award was established in spring 1991 to recognize outstanding contributions made by University of Oklahoma professionals and faculty academic advisors who demonstrate the qualities associated with outstanding academic advising of students. Such qualities reflect perspective, initiative, and efforts that transcend the boundaries of the adviser’s designated advising responsibilities.  

Provost's Outstanding New Advisor Award

The Provost's Outstanding New Advisor Award recognizes outstanding contributions made by an employee serving as an academic advisor for three or fewer years. This award is managed by tthe Provost's Advisory Committee on Academic Advising.

Jennifer L. Wise Stewardship Award

The Jennifer L. Wise Good Stewardship Award is designed to recognize outstanding contributions made by staff, who have been determined to have demonstrated the qualities associated with good stewardship. 

Presidential Teaching Fellowships in the Honors College

Presidential Teaching Fellowships in Honors are awarded to those faculty members who excel in all of their professional activities and who relate those activities to the students they teach. They are selected to teach HON-prefix courses in the Honors College for a period of two years. These professors have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching and have a record of inspiring and mentoring their students. 

Nancy L. Mergler Dissertation Completion Fellowship

The Nancy L. Mergler Dissertation Completion Fellowship is an award for Ph.D. candidates who are in the final phases of dissertation writing. The purpose of the award is to recognize especially meritorious projects and to support their completion. Seven one-time awards of $15,000 are granted each year on a competitive basis to the most outstanding proposals. A call for applications is announced each December. A selection committee of current faculty from across campus reviews the applications and selects recipients in the spring. All Ph.D. candidates in Norman-Campus programs who will prospectively complete their degree in the coming academic year are eligible to apply.

Call for Applicants, 2017-18

Cover Form

2015-16 Recipients

2016-17 Recipients

2017-18 Recipients