Skip Navigation

“To inspire and enable OU instructors to provide the best possible educational experience for our students.”

Graduate Teaching Academy

Graduate Teaching Academy (GTA) seeks to promote and maintain a standard of teaching excellence amongst graduate students at the University of Oklahoma. The academy is open to all current graduate students and postdocs who are interested in professional development activities focused on enhancing teaching to improve student learning.

Fall 2017 GTA Calendar

Date Time Topic
Thursday, Sept. 7 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Teaching Philosophy Statement Register Now »
Tuesday, Sept. 12 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Teaching Philosophy Statement +
Tuesday, Sept. 19 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GTA Seminar: Psychological Stresses and Common Anxieties as a Graduate Student + Register Now »
Tuesday, Sept. 26 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Academic Job Search + Register Now »
Thursday, Sept. 28 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Gamifying the Classroom *∆ Register Now »
Tuesday, Oct. 3 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GTA Seminar: Everyday Technology in Teaching *∆ Register Now »
Wednesday Sept. 20- Wednesday Oct. 25 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM Graduate Reading Circle: How Learning Works (Meets every Wednesday for 6 weeks) Register Now »
Tuesday, Oct. 10 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Grading and Feedback Register Now »
Tuesday, Oct. 17 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Effective Writing Strategies for Dissertation/Thesis Completion + Register Now »
Tuesday, Oct. 24 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Student Engagement Register Now »
Thursday, Oct. 26 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GTA Seminar: Promoting a Learning Mindset ∆ Register Now »
Thursday, Nov. 9 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GTA Seminar: Authentic Teaching and Learning Register Now »
Thursday, Nov. 16 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Achieving Learning Goals Through Case Studies *∆ Register Now »

* Technology Track
+ Career Development
∆ Pedagogy

Date Time Topic
Tuesday, Jan. 31 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Course Design ∆  Register Here»
Thursday, Feb. 2 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Teaching Philosophy Statement +  Register Here»
Tuesday, Feb. 7 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM

GTA Workshop: Teaching Philosophy Statement II + Register Here»

Thursday, Feb. 9 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Student Engagement ∆  Register Here»
Tuesday, Feb. 14 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GTA Seminar: How the Web Works and Can Work for You*  Register Here»
Tuesday, Feb. 21 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Digital Identity/Web Presence*+ Register Here»
Thursday, Feb. 23 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Academic Job Search + Register Here»
Tuesday, Feb. 28 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Workshop: Digital Teaching Resources *∆ Register Here»
Tuesday, Mar. 7 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GTA Seminar: Effective Slides ∆ Register Here»
Tuesday, Mar. 28 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GTA Seminar: Fair Use and Copyright * Register Here»
Wednesday Mar. 22- Wednesday Apr. 26 4:30 PM to 5:30 PM Graduate Reading Circle: TBD (Meets every Wednesday for 6 weeks) Register Here»
Tuesday, Apr. 4 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Grading and Feedback ∆ Register Here»
Tuesday, Apr. 11 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Diversity and Inclusivity in the Classroom ∆ Register Here»
Thursday, Apr. 13 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Micro-Teaching ∆ Register Here»
Tuesday, Apr. 18 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Meeting Your Writing Goals + Register Here»
Tuesday, Apr. 25 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM GTA Seminar: Interviewing for Jobs + Register Here»

* Technology Track
+ Career Development
∆ Pedagogy

Graduate Teaching Academy

Programs

GTA SEMINARS

  • Improve your teaching effectiveness and professional development through discussion-based interactions focused on the theory and philosophy of teaching. (1 hour, various dates)

GTA WORKSHOPS

  • Prepare for your teaching and career through outcome-based workshops and practice sessions focused on the application of teaching principles and professional development strategies (2 hours, various dates)

GRADUATE READING CIRCLES

  • Explore relevant teaching topics through learning communities examining in-depth, teaching-related topics. (1 hour, weekly)

Levels of Achievement (view more information)

LEVEL 1

  • Participate in at least 15 hours of GTA and DITA workshops/seminars
  • Submit Reflection Essay

LEVEL 2

  • Participate in at least 20 hours of GTA and DITA workshops/seminars
  • Complete at least one classroom teaching observation
  • Submit Reflection Essay