Skip Navigation

ASC Region V/TEXO - 2016

Christopher C. Gibbs College of Architecture, Haskell and Irene Lemon Construction Science Division, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation

OU Teams Placed in Top Three in Various Categories at the 2016 Associated Schools of Construction Region V/TEXO Student Competition

The 2016 OU Design-Build domestic team, comprised of Construction Science and Architecture students, placed 1st at the recent 2016 Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Region V Design-Build Student Competition in Dallas, TX. The annual competition, hosted by TEXO, included three competition categories and was open to construction programs in Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana, and Arkansas. This year’s International Design-Build category was combined with the domestic Design-Build category.

The 1st place OU Design-Build domestic team was comprised of construction students Jared Palmer, Katie Boon, Scott Kleinschmidt, Luke Howard (alternate Raisul Islam) along with architecture students Jared Hopkins and Robert Watters (alternate Kira Collins). The team was coached by Construction Science Professor Tammy McCuen. The competition required teams prepare a proposal for the design and construction of a new core and shell office building with rentable area of 100,000 square feet located on a 7.3 acres site in Plano, TX. Teams were given 16 hours, starting 8:00am Saturday February 13th, to determine and document their proposals.  The teams were then required to present their proposals to a panel of jurors comprised of the project owner and JE Dunn Construction project team in Dallas on Monday. The group topped a field of 7 teams from different universities in the region.

ASC DB 1st - 2016

2016 OU Domestic Design–Build Student Competition Team

The 2016 OU/Dublin Institute of Technology team, comprised of OU and DIT students, was placed 3rd in the Design-Build category. The team was comprised of OU construction students Jonathan Healey, Ryan Reagan, architecture student Conor McMichael and three students from DIT (alternate Cooper Pollacia). OU Professor Somik Ghosh and DIT Professor Lloyd Scott coached the team. John Flynn from DIT was awarded the best presenter for the Design-Build category.

ASC DB 3rd - 2016

2016 OU/DIT International Design–Build Student Competition Team

The other OU Design-Build International team, comprised of OU students and Deakin University (Australia) students, did not place, but made a strong showing. The team was comprised of OU construction students Jimmy Kaczmarek, Christopher Griffiths, architecture student Mauricio Lopez and three students from Deakin University (alternate Griffin Lafitte). James Iwanuch from Deakin received the 3rd best presenter award for the Design-Build category.  The team was coached by OU Professor Anthony Perrenoud.

The 2016 OU Commercial Building competition team, comprised of construction students Tyler Sublett, Jamin Eggert, Grant Baggs, Chris Parker, Jared Scarborough, and Blain Gerhart (alternates Drake Mouse and Jacob Ruhl) placed 2nd in a very competitive field of 11 teams.  The team was coached by Professor Matt Reyes. The team submitted a proposal to the project sponsor, Balfour Beatty Construction, for the Richard J. Lee Elementary School in Coppell, TX.  The project was a 90,000 sf building with the goal of achieving net zero energy usage status.  Some unique items included to help achieve net zero were rain water retention systems, wind and solar power generators, and a geothermal system.  Tyler Sublett was awarded the best presenter for this category. 

ASC COM 2nd - 2016

2016 OU Commercial Student Competition Team